Archive for Tuesday, May 12, 1998


May 12, 1998


A day after concluding its season, Kansas University's baseball team held its annual team banquet Sunday on the diamond at Hoglund-Maupin Stadium.

At the banquet, senior catcher Josh Dimmick was given the Gib Francis Team MVP Award, the Jeff Niemeier RBI Award and the Sallie Mae Student-Athlete Award. Senior outfielder Clint Wyrick was given the Ron MacDonald Coaches Award, and freshman shortstop John Nelson was named the Bob Allison Rookie of the Year.

Woodman wins

Emporia -- Kansas' Marlea Woodman and Lisa Beran placed 1-2 in the discus at the ESU Spring Twilight track meet Saturday at Emporia State. Woodman threw Aggies top seed

for Big 12 tourney

The same collection of teams that christened last year's postseason tournament will head to the spanking new Southwestern Bell Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City on Thursday for the league's second Big 12 baseball championship.

Leading the way is Texas A&M; (40-16, 21-9), which wrapped up the Big 12 championship a week ago by taking two of three from runner-up Baylor (39-16, 18-10).

Big 12 Tournament

At Oklahoma City


No. 1 Texas A&M; (40-16) v. No. 6 Oklahoma State (37-17), 11 a.m.

No. 2 Baylor (39-16) v. No. 5 Missouri (36-16), 3 p.m.

No. 3 Texas Tech (39-17) v. No. 4 Oklahoma (38-16), 7 p.m.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.