Archive for Friday, May 1, 1998


May 1, 1998


Kansas University has an-nounced the eight faculty members who are recipients of this year's Distinguished Teaching Awards.

The faculty members -- one of whom will be honored posthumously -- will be feted at the all-university supper May 15 at KU's Adams Alumni Center, and during commencement ceremonies.

Winners of this year's Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Classroom Teacher -- given to faculty members of the KU Medical Center in Kansas City, Kan. -- are:

Virginia Cassmeyer, an associate professor of nursing who died in October; Janet Pierce, associate professor of nursing; Allen Rawitch, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; and John Wood, assistant professor of molecular and integrative physiology.

The winner of the H. Bernerd Fink Award for outstanding classroom teaching is Karen Nordheden, KU assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science. The award was established in 1961 by H. Bernerd and Ruth Fink of Topeka.

Paul L. Markham, KU associate professor of teaching and leadership, has won the Archie and Nancy Dykes Award. The award was established in 1990 by former Chancellor Archie Dykes and his wife, Nancy, of Nashville, Tenn., with a match by the Whitman Corp. Foundation, Rolling Meadows, Ill. The award honors faculty for undergraduate teaching.

Naomi Abigail Bolotin, KU assistant professor of linguistics, and Christopher Johnson, KU assistant professor of music and dance, are the winners of the Ned N. Fleming Trust Awards. The fund for the awards was established in 1990 by the estate of the late Ned Fleming, chief executive officer and honorary chair of the board of Fleming Cos. of Topeka. The award honors outstanding faculty members with distinguished records of teaching, scholarship and service.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.