Archive for Wednesday, September 10, 1997


September 10, 1997


In conjunction with the annual Kansas University faculty and staff convocation, KU provost David Shulenberger announced on Tuesday the recipients of several major teaching awards:

  • Allan Press, the Gene and Gretchen Budig Award for teaching excellence in the school of social welfare.
  • Carole Rich, recognized as the first Del Brinkman Journalism Teaching Professor.
  • Sherry Borgers, the Gene A. Budig teaching professorship in the school of education.

The Gretchen VanBloom Budig teaching professorship in the school of fine arts was awarded posthumously to Michael Ott.

The recipients of the 1997 Higuchi/Endowment Research

Achievement Awards were also announced:

  • Norman E. Saul, professor of history and Russian and East European studies, who will receive the Balfour S. Jeffrey Award for research achievement in the humanities.
  • Gunda I. Georg, professor of medicinal chemistry, will receive the Olin K. Petefish Award for research achievement in basic sciences. Georg is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and director of the Higuchi Biosciences Center Drug Discovery Program at KU.
  • Opendra "Bill" Narayan, Marion Merrell Dow Foundation distinguished professor in the department of microbiology, molecular genetics and immunology, KU School of Medicine, Kansas City, Kan., will receive the Dolph Simons Award for research achievement in the biomedical sciences.
  • Bikram S. Gill, university distinguished professor of plant pathology, Kansas State University, will receive the Irvin E. Youngberg Award for research achievement in applied sciences.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.