Archive for Monday, November 24, 1997


November 24, 1997


LV Luarks, who was convicted in a 1981 murder, is eligible for parole again.

A Topeka man convicted in Douglas County of participating in the 1981 murder of a Topeka woman is being considered for parole in December.

LV Luarks Jr., who was convicted in December 1981 of second-degree murder in the death of Terry L. Brown, is serving 15 years to life in the Hutchinson Correctional Facility.

Brown, then 25, was shot to death in August 1981 in retaliation for the alleged burglary of Gwyndolyn McNair's Topeka home. McNair was convicted of first-degree murder in Brown's death. Luarks has been paroled twice before on the murder conviction, in March 1992 and March 1994. Both times he was returned to prison as a parole violator with no additional sentence.

In July 1994, he was released to Sedgwick County, where he was convicted of possessing and selling drugs without a tax stamp in 1994. He then returned to prison with an additional 37-month sentence for the drug convictions.

Following is a list of other inmates who were convicted in local and area courts with parole hearings scheduled in December. The list includes the county or counties in which they were convicted, the crimes for which they were convicted and where they are imprisoned.

Dave Leon Benton, Leavenworth, indecent liberties with a child and aggravated sodomy; El Dorado Correctional Facility.

James Cox, Shawnee, forgery, robbery, criminal damage to property, obstruction of the legal process, burglary, three counts of theft; Sedgwick, burglary; Leavenworth, aggravated battery on a law enforcement officer and battery on a correctional officer; El Dorado Correctional Facility.

Scott A. Motley, Wyandotte, two counts of theft, two counts of burglary, attempted aggravated robbery; Johnson, unlawful possession of a firearm and aggravated assault; Leavenworth, battery on a correctional officer; El Dorado Correctional Facility.

John Allen Purdy, Sedgwick, two counts of aggravated robbery and first-degree murder; Leavenworth, aggravated escape from custody; Reno, aggravated battery; El Dorado Correctional Facility.

Keith E. Spencer, Leavenworth, three counts of theft and three counts of burglary; Ellsworth Correctional Facility.

David W. Bardwell, Wyandotte, three counts of burglary; Leavenworth, trafficking in contraband in a penal institution; Shawnee, attempted burglary; Lansing Correctional Facility.

Byron C. Brown, Sedgwick, aggravated robbery and kidnapping; Leavenworth, aggravated escape from custody; Lansing Correctional Facility.

Bobby J. Hammond, Leavenworth, aggravated battery, aggravated robbery and aggravated assault; Wyandotte, aggravated robbery; Lansing Correctional Facility.

Joshua D. Seymore, Leavenworth, conspiracy to commit robbery; Lansing Correctional Facility.

Wendell K. Smart, Sedgwick, four counts of aggravated robbery and one count of attempted manufacturing, possession or distribution of narcotics; Leavenworth, attempted trafficking of contraband in a correctional institution; Lansing Correctional Facility.

Jeffrey Lanham, Miami, burglary, aggravated sodomy and theft; Shawnee, unlawful possession of firearms; Douglas, criminal possession of firearms; Norton Correctional Facility.

The parole board has scheduled public comment sessions to gather input on whether to grant parole to these and other inmates.

The sessions will be from 9 a.m. to noon today at the Kansas City, Kan., City Hall, One McDowell Plaza, 701 N. Seventh; and from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Wednesday on the first floor of the Landon State Office Building in Topeka, 900 S.W. Jackson.

People unable to attend can send a letter to: Kansas Parole Board, Landon State Office Building, 900 Jackson St., Room 452-South, Topeka, 66612-1220.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.