Archive for Saturday, November 15, 1997


November 15, 1997


Lawrence High School and Free State High School have posted wins at the tournaments held the past two weekends.

Most recently, LHS won the Shawnee Mission West Invitational Debate Tournament with a 17-3 record.

Fallon Farokhi and Kristen Wong placed second in the Novice Championship Division while the team of Nick Jacob and Seth Findley placed fourth. The teams of Chris Bates and Sarah Scholle, and Justin Shmalberg and Chris Meyer closed out the final round by both winning the semifinals.

At Shawnee Mission East High School, Dalton Paley and Josie Madl placed fourth in the Championship Division.

Nathan Bachert and Joe Heacock place third at the Turner Invitational.

The LHS squad placed third in the Sweepstakes Competition at the Blue Valley North Tournament. Kathryn Fuller and Kelly Rathbun medaled at the tournament.

The Free State debate team placed second at the Shawnee Mission West Tournament.

Cassandra Hilpman and Jake Imber placed third while Austin Paley and Kris Schmidt placed fourth in the Novice Open Division. Sandi Biszantz and Karen Ebmeier placed fourth in the Novice Championship Division.

At Shawnee Mission East, Matt Hicks and Brett Elliott placed fourth in the Open Division.

Emily Chaney and Nicole Harper won medals at the Blue Valley North Tournament. Jessica Purcell and Sarah Graves placed at the Turner Tournament.

The weekend of Oct. 31-Nov. 2, the two teams brought home these honors:

At the Baldwin High School Invitational Tournament, LHS students Lindsey Gilroy and Ashley Boehle took fist place with a record of five wins and zero losses. At the Salina Central Invitational, Rich Lloyd and John Finch took third place in the Championship Division.

At Abilene High School, the squad took the traveling sweepstakes trophy. Chris Bates and Sara Scholle won one half of the bracket to close out the finals for LHS. Dennis Shafer and Adam Franz took third place.

Free State students won awards at Abilene High School as well. Sandi Biszantz and Karen Ebmeier took third place in the Open Division. Geoffrey Wright and Ethan McDonald took fourth place in the Novice Division.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.