Archive for Thursday, May 23, 1996


May 23, 1996


Lawrence school staff members who are retiring were honored Wednesday afternoon during a ceremony at Southwest Junior High School.

A total of 19 retiring staff members were recognized for their many years of service, and 16 educators' 25 years of teaching were noted.

In addition, several awards were presented during the event:

Janet Breithaupt received the fifth annual Lawrence Schools Area Council's award for encouraging parent involvement in schools and in partnerships between home and school. Breithaupt is a second-grade teacher at Sunflower School.

Chris Muehlberger received the fourth annual Classified Employee Scholarship from the Lawrence Education Assn. Muehlberger is a paraprofessional at Lawrence High School, where he works in technical instruction. He is pursuing an education degree and will do some student teaching next fall at LHS.

Janice Grashel, an instructional skills coordinator, was presented the Vicki Larason Landman Memorial Award, named for a teacher who died in 1973 in a boating accident. The award is given to an educator who is committed to equality between the sexes and who does not limit children to societal roles for boys and girls.

Gary Toebben was selected as the district's 1996 Outstanding Citizen of the Year for his many years of work on behalf of public schools. Toebben, president of the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce, was one of the early promoters of Lawrence's highly successful Business/Education Partnership program.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.