Archive for Wednesday, March 13, 1996


March 13, 1996


Senior Nick Wood, Lawrence High's leading scorer and rebounder, was the lone Lion selected to the all-Sunflower League boys basketball team.

Wood averaged 13.3 points and 4.8 rebounds a game to lead the Lions.

Other first-team selections were Michael Johnson, Shawnee Mission East; Mike Finnell, SM Northwest; Jason Fullen, Leavenworth; Brom Knop, Olathe North; John Macan, SM North; Ryan Martino, Olathe South; Brett McFall, Olathe South; Joe Phelts, Olathe East; and Marcus Swartz, Leavenworth.

Johnson, the leading vote-getter from the league coaches, was named most valuable player.

LHS seniors Casey Cook, Donnell Caro and Jo Jo Polk received honorable mention.

John McFall, who guided Olathe South to a 23-1 season and second-place finish at the Class 6A state tournament, was named coach of the year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.