Archive for Wednesday, June 26, 1996


June 26, 1996


The Kansas Board of Regents doesn't have to go far to obtain legal advice.

Four of nine people who serve on the governing body of the state's public universities are lawyers.

Established by state law in 1925, the Board of Regents was given constitutional status in 1966.

Today, board members have jurisdiction over Kansas University in Lawrence and KU Medical Center in Kansas City, Kan.

In addition, regents are responsible for Kansas State University, Wichita State University, Emporia State University, Pittsburg State University and Fort Hays State University.

Regents also have limited oversight of Washburn University, a municipal university in Topeka.

The nine members of the Board of Regents are appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Kansas Senate.

Regents facts:

  • Political affiliation: five Democrats, four Republicans.
  • Average age: 52.7 years.
  • Education: five are KU grads; seven have advanced degrees.
  • Gender: seven men, two women.

State law requires that one member of the board be appointed from each congressional district. Remaining members are appointed at large, but no two may reside in the same county at the time of appointment.

In addition, a maximum of five regents may be of the same political party.

Regents serve overlapping four-year terms. They elect a chair each June to serve a one-year term beginning July 1. Dr. John Hiebert, Lawrence, has nearly finished his stint as chairman.

The veteran regent is businessman Sidney Warner of Cimarron. He joined the board in 1992.

The least experienced are regents Murray Lull of Smith Center and Sylvia Robinson of Kansas City, Kan. Both were appointed in March.

Regents receive $35 for each day of attendance at board meetings and are eligible to be reimbursed for travel expenses.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.