A local woman who is being investigated in a suspected child-abuse case has been registered as a child-care provider in Douglas County since 1993.
Peggy Scally, child-care licensing coordinator for the Lawrence-Douglas County Heath Department, said state law allows registered child-care providers to care for up to six children, including their own, in their facility. No more than three of the children can be less than 18 months old.
Detective Lt. David Cobb said today that detectives are completing a final report on their investigation into how an 11-week-old girl was severely injured. Police were called late Friday after the baby's father picked her up from the home in the 2900 block of Rimrock Drive.
The infant remained in critical, but improving, condition this morning at Children's Mercy Hospital in Kansas City, Mo., Cobb said.
Scally said that since 1980 the state has allowed child-care providers to either become licensed or registered. Prior to 1980, all care homes had to be licensed and were subject to inspection by the state. The health department is prohibited from inspecting registered care homes.
She said Douglas County parents pushed to change the law.
"They felt that parents had the right and the knowledge to decide where their children would be cared for," Scally said. "It was kind of the same feeling then that there is now, that there were two many regulations."
Licensed child-care providers may care for up to 10 children under 11 years of age. No more than three children may be under 18 months.
Licensed providers also must have annual continuing education.
There is no education requirement for registered care-home operators.
Scally said 102 complaints were filed against local child-care providers in 1994 and 63 percent were found to be accurate.
Information on complaints filed against local child-care providers can be obtained from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Adult and Child Care, at (913) 296-1270.