Archive for Wednesday, January 25, 1995


January 25, 1995


Start your voting machines

A school board that has become bitterly divided by a bond issue has drawn the most political candidates among area cities and districts for the April 4 election.

Twelve candidates beat the filing deadline at noon Tuesday to vie for four seats on the Basehor-Linwood school board, the Leavenworth County clerk's office reported.

The district is scheduled to vote next Tuesday on a $13.95 million bond issue, the centerpiece of which is construction of a new high school in Basehor. During board discussions of the proposal -- variations of which have been defeated in previous elections -- board members have accused each other of lying to voters and deliberately sabotaging elections.

Positions and candidates for the board are: Position No. 1 -- Paul McEnroe, Rob Painter and Bill Lee; Position No. 2 -- Tim Miller, Gwen Breuer and Joseph Nick Sr.; Position No. 3 -- Kerry Mueller, Jim Rush and Howard Jones; Position No. 7 -- Pamela Kirkpatrick, Ronald Grover and Kevin Shryock.

  • Tonganoxie school board: Position No. 1 -- Lynn Kerns, Kathy Underwood and Earleta Morey; Position No. 2 -- Ron Moore, Ingrid McMahon and Connie O'Brien; Position No. 3 -- Linda Sturgeon and John Reischman; Position No. 7 -- Dick Dean and Peachez Joles.
  • Linwood City Council: Council member -- Carl Kohlmeyer, Margaret Elliott and John Wood; Mayor -- Arlene Pritchard.

In Jefferson County, the candidate list reads as follows:

  • Oskaloosa school board: Position No. 1-- James Ware; Position No. 2 -- Philip Perry; Position No. 3 -- Cindy Baker; Position No. 7 -- Richard L. Stebbins and Bruce Hanson.
  • McLouth school board: Position No. 1 -- Mike Schwinn, Jackie Masopust and Joseph Nave; Position No. 2 -- Steve Poe, Darryl Graves and Kathy Hollingsworth; Positive No. 5 -- Lori Carnahan and Steve Smith; Position No. 7 -- Joe Ryan and Teresa Woodhead.
  • Perry-Lecompton school board: Position No. 1 -- Pat Schafer; Position No. 2 -- Greg Howard; Position No. 7 -- Ed Daniels.
  • Oskaloosa City Council: Council members -- Jerry Robbins and A.W. "Rocky" Himpel; Mayor -- Kevin Adams.
  • McLouth City Council: Council member -- Douglas Walbridge, Dan Courtney and Kenneth Kramer; Mayor -- William Wear.
  • Perry City Council: Council member -- Floyd Swafford and Kevin Kuenzi; Mayor -- Matt Willkomm.

The candidate list for city councils and school districts surrounding Lawrence in Douglas County reads:

  • Baldwin school board: Position No. 1 -- Roger Arnold; Position No. 2 -- Barbara Johnson and Eugene Kivett; Position No. 3 -- William Wilson, Kellie Westgate, Fred Schultz and Curtis Trarbach; Position No. 7 -- Mary Chubb and Greg Schwartz.
  • Eudora school board: Patty Buchholz, Brenda Clark, Deborah Matthews, Gregory Neis, Kenneth Massey, Mark Chrislip and Carla Grosdidier.
  • Baldwin City Council: Council member -- Robert Myers.
  • Eudora City Council: Council member -- Allen Morriss, Ronald Conner, David Durkin and Mark Grosdidier.
  • Lecompton City Council: Council member -- Ed Smith; Mayor -- Jeff Goodrick.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.