Archive for Wednesday, December 6, 1995


December 6, 1995


The Buck Buchanan Award will remain in Lawrence High's loaded trophy case for another year -- and the Myers brothers can share bragging rights.

LHS senior Lee Myers, a 6-foot-1, 220-pounder, received on Tuesday the annual football award given to the outstanding lineman in Kansas. His name will be engraved on the trophy with past LHS recipients -- his brother James Myers (1993) and Nate Williams (1994).

"We've been fortunate to have those guys," said LHS head coach Dick Purdy, who joined Myers at the ceremony at Olathe North. "All have been a major part of our success."

Myers, an all-state selection and the only unanimous pick to the all-Sunflower League's defensive team, was a two-year starter for Lawrence. He started on the offensive and defensive lines his senior year, in which Lawrence won the Class 6A state crown, 20-0, over Derby and finished with an 11-1 record.

"It was one of those goals I set for myself," Myers said of the Buchanan Award. "I got a lot of pressure from my brother to get it, but it was all good pressure. It made me proud of myself that he's achieved it and I have."

James, who started at center for Baker University this past season, attended the award ceremonies with their parents, the LHS coaching staff and Lion linemen Pat Mason, Brett Romme and Shane Wedd. The line helped produce Lawrence's school-record rushing average of 324.8 yards a game.

"A lot of the success I achieved was through my teammates because they made me a better person and player," Lee said. "I hope I made them a better person and player."

Myers plans to play football in college. He said he probably wouldn't make his decision until late February.

Rockhurst senior Don Adams received the Buchanan award for best lineman in Missouri.

The Buchanan award is named for the former Chiefs Hall of Famer who died in 1992.

In conjunction with the Buchanan award, the 13th annual Thomas A. Simone Award was given to O-North senior tailback Arland Bruce as the best player in the Kansas City area.

Bruce, who has committed to Kansas University, rushed for 1,675 yards and 29 touchdowns -- both school records -- his senior year. He was the only running back to rush for more than 100 yards against the Lions in '95. He did it twice -- in Week Two and in the state semifinal.

The Simone Award is named after Tommy Simone, who died in an automobile accident at age 12 in 1983.

Jason Thoren, a sophomore linebacker for KU, won the Simone Award his senior year at Lawrence.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.