Archive for Wednesday, August 23, 1995


August 23, 1995


Professor C.C. Cheng devotes countless hours to the search for cancer treatments.

In recognition of that worthy struggle, Cheng will receive the Dolph Simons Sr. award for research achievements in the biomedical sciences at a ceremony Oct. 9 at the Adams Alumni Center.

The late Mr. Simons was publisher of the Journal-World.

Cheng, a member of the Kansas University Medical Center faculty since 1978, is professor of pharmacology, toxicology and therapeutics.

In 1976, the internationally-known medicinal-organic chemist synthesized mitoxantrone, recognized as a clinically useful cancer treatment.

He is among four university professors selected as recipients of 1995 Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Awards. Winners receive a $10,000 award to further their research.

The other award winners are:

  • Donald Worster, Hall distinguished professor of American history at KU, will receive the Balfour Jeffrey Award for humanities research. He came to KU in 1989 and studies environmental history, the American West, agricultural and rural history, and American culture and society.
  • Kenneth Klabunde, university distinguished professor of chemistry at Kansas State University, will acquire the Olin Petefish Award for research in basic sciences. On the KSU faculty since 1979, he's a leading expert on metal-atom chemistry.
  • Donald Deshler, KU professor of special education and director of the Center for Research on Learning, will receive the Irvin Youngberg Award for research in applied sciences. He came to KU in 1974. He develops strategies learning-disabled adolescents and young adults use to master subject matter in high schools and colleges.

The awards were established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, a former distinguished professor of pharmaceutical chemistry at KU, and his wife, Aya.

The Higuchis stipulated that faculty members at KU and the five other Kansas Board of Regents universities would be eligible.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.