Archive for Thursday, October 27, 1994


October 27, 1994


Roy Williams' says his preseason pick to win the Big Eight Conference basketball championship is Iowa State.

Writers and broadcasters from around the league beg to differ. Kansas is the media's pick to win the conference title during the 1994-95 season.

Oklahoma State's Bryant Reeves was named preseason player of the year. KU's Raef LaFrentz was named preseason freshman of the year and Jayhawk sophomore Jerod Haase newcomer of the year.

The Jayhawks received 30 of 49 possible first place votes in the poll of writers and sportscastersreleased Wednesday by the conference office.

The order of the preseason poll shows Kansas followed by Oklahoma State, Iowa State, Nebraska, Missouri, Oklahoma, Kansas State and Colorado.

OSU center Reeves was the only player mentioned on all 47 ballots for the preseason all-Big Eight team. He's joined by KU sophomore guard Jacque Vaughn, plus seniors Donnie Boyce of Colorado and Fred Hoiberg of Iowa State, both guards. Oklahoma junior forward Ryan Minor also made the team.

Showing the greatest variance in the team voting were Iowa State and defending champion Missouri, receiving mention in seven different spots. Nebraska and Oklahoma claimed votes in five different positions.

KU coach Williams says, on paper, the Cyclones look like the league's best team.

"Right now, if you asked every coach in the league to name the 10 best players in the league, I believe Iowa State would have three of the top 10 players," Williams said.

He was referring to Fred Hoiberg, Julius Michalik and Loren Meyer.

"If you'd get the coaches to be honest and not just pick somebody, Iowa State would be the favorite. You guys (media) never will because of a lack of respect or whatever, because you'd be out on a limb.

"One magazine listed the top 50 teams (in country) and didn't have Iowa State listed," Williams added. "I'd have more money than Michael Jordan if I could make a bet Iowa State would be one of the top 50 teams in the country."

The Cyclones will be led by first-year coach Tim Floyd.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.