Archive for Wednesday, March 9, 1994


March 9, 1994


— Kansas senior Steve Woodberry was named second-team all-Big Eight on Tuesday in a vote of the league's coaches.

Missouri senior guard Melvin Booker and Oklahoma State center Bryant Reeves joined Nebraska's Eric Piatkowski, Oklahoma's Jeff Webster and Okie State's Brooks Thompson on the first team.

Named to the second team were Woodberry, Colorado guard Donnie Boyce, guard Askia Jones of Kansas State, forward Fred Hoiberg of Iowa State and Missouri center Jevon Crudup.

The coaches picked Missouri's Norm Stewart as coach of the year and Kelly Thames as freshman of the year.

Oklahoma junior John Ontjes was named newcomer of the year.

First team

Bryant Reeves, C, Oklahoma State

Melvin Booker, G, Missouri

Brooks Thompson, G, Oklahoma State

Jeff Webster, F, Oklahoma

Eric Piatkowski, F, Nebraska

Second Team

Steve Woodberry, G, Kansas

Fred Hoiberg, G, Iowa State

Donnie Boyce, G, Colorado

Askia Jones, G, Kansas State

Jevon Crudup, F, Missouri

Honorable Mention

Richard Scott, F, Kansas

Kelly Thames, F, Missouri

Julius Michalik, F, Iowa State

Greg Ostertag, C, Kansas

Ryan Minor, F, Oklahoma

Deryl Cunningham, C, Kansas State

Randy Rutherford, F, Oklahoma State

Coach of Year

Norm Stewart, Missouri

Newcomer of Year

John Ontjes, Oklahoma

Freshman of Year

Kelly Thames, Missouri

Commenting has been disabled for this item.