Archive for Sunday, August 21, 1994


August 21, 1994


Teaching and research awards will be announced at Monday's ceremony.

Kansas University professor Thomas Erb's goal as a teacher is to educate his students so well that his job is unnecessary.

"You empower them so they don't need you," said Erb, a 17-year professor of curriculum and instruction in the School of Education. "If you do a job good at it, you work your way out of a job."

On Monday, Erb and two other KU professors will be recognized for their teaching talents when they receive Chancellor's Awards for Distinguished Teaching at KU's faculty convocation.

Associate professor of nursing Ann Schorfheide, who will receive the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Professor of Nursing award, said it was "very gratifying" to be honored by her peers and students.

Schorfheide, who has taught at the Kansas University Medical Center in Kansas City, Kan., for 12 years, said her love of the nursing profession allowed her to be an effective educator.

"I like being a nurse, and I wouldn't want to do anything else," she said. "That gives me a enthusiasm that I share with the students."

Alice Lieberman, associate professor of social welfare, also named enthusiasm for her work as her key to being a successful teacher.

Lieberman will receive the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Professor of Social Welfare award.

Four Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Awards, with a $10,000 stipend to support the recipient's research, will also be awarded during Monday's convocation.

Daryl H. Busch, Roy A. Roberts distinguished professor of chemistry, will receive the Olin Petefish Award in recognition of research accomplishment in basic sciences.

Theodore Kuwana, Regents distinguished professor of chemistry and pharmaceutical chemistry, will receive the Irvin Youngberg Award in applied sciences.

David C. Morrison, professor of microbiology, molecular genetics and immunology, will receive the Dolph Simons Sr. Award in recognition of research achievement in the biomedical sciences.

Philip S. Paludan, professor of history, will receive the Balfour Jeffrey Award for research achievement in the humanities and social sciences.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.