Archive for Saturday, September 18, 1993


September 18, 1993


Four scholars were honored Friday night as recipients of the 1993 Higuchi Endowment Research Achievement Awards during a ceremony at the Adams Alumni Center.

The recipients are Susan Kemper, Kansas University courtesy professor of communication studies and professor of psychology; George Wilson, KU Higuchi distinguished professor of chemistry; Dr. Stephen Russell, director of the Cancer Center at the Kansas University Medical Center, Kansas City, Kan.; and Clenton Owensby, a professor in the department of agronomy at Kansas State University.

Kemper was presented the Balfour Jeffrey Award in Humanities and Social Services.

Wilson was presented the Olin K. Petefish Award in Basic Sciences.

Russell was presented the Dolph Simons Sr. Award in Biomedical Sciences.

Owensby was presented the Irvin Youngberg Award for Applied Sciences.

The awards, established in 1981, were created by the late Takeru Higuchi and his wife, Aya Higuchi, and the KU Endowment Association to recognize and honor research accomplishments of faculty members in Kansas Board of Regents schools.

Each award carries the name of an individual who was instrumental in bringing Higuchi to KU.

KU Chancellor Gene Budig, Executive Vice Chancellor Ed Meyen and other KU officials stressed the importance of the Higuchi awards in calling attention to the role of research.

Higuchi, who died in 1987, was a Regents professor of chemistry and pharmacy, and chairman of the department of pharmaceutical chemistry at KU.

He came to Lawrence in 1967 and was recognized as the father of physical pharmacy for his work in applying the principles of the theoretical science of chemistry to human pharmaceutical needs.

The awards are named after the late Balfour Jeffrey, Irvin Youngberg and Dolph Simons Sr., and Olin Petefish, for their contributions to the research program at KU.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.