Archive for Sunday, May 2, 1993


May 2, 1993


Seven people who were convicted in Douglas or Jefferson counties were among state prison inmates who are scheduled to go before the Kansas Parole Board in June, the board announced recently.

Following is a list of the inmates, the county or counties in which they were convicted, the crimes they were convicted of committing and the prison where they are incarcerated:

-- William Vaughn Jr., Douglas and Shawnee, three counts of burglary, single counts of attempted burglary, attempted theft, criminal damage to property and theft, Hutchinson Correctional Facility.

-- Anthony Kiosow, Douglas and Johnson, forgery and attempting to make a false writing, Norton Correctional Facility.

-- Leonard Brockman, Douglas, two counts of burglary, two counts of theft, criminal damage to property, Wichita Work Release Facility.

-- Rickie Cagle, Jefferson, Leavenworth and Shawnee, two counts of kidnapping, two counts of aggravated robbery, single counts of aggravated escape from custody, aggravated burglary, unlawful possession of firearms, Eldorado Correctional Facility.

-- Rayburn Clark, Jefferson, making terroristic threats, Eldorado Correctional Facility.

-- Terence D. Crowley, Douglas and Leavenworth, theft and driving with a revoked, canceled or suspended driver's license, Eldorado Correctional Work Facility.

-- Gerald L. Thomas, Douglas, a drug-related offense, Topeka Correctional Facility.

The parole board has scheduled three comment sessions to gather input from state residents about inmates who are scheduled for hearings.

The sessions are scheduled:

-- 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. May 13 at the City Council Chambers, First Floor, Municipal Building, 455 N. Main St., Wichita.

-- 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. May 21 at the auditorium of the Topeka Public Library, 1515 W. 10th, Topeka.

-- 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. May 28 at the Commissioner's Room, Second Floor, Wyandotte County Courthouse, 710 N. Seventh, Kansas City, Kan.

Anyone who would like to comment about an inmate but cannot attend a session may write to the Kansas Parole Board, Landon State Office Building, 900 Jackson St., Topeka, 66612-1220.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.