Archive for Saturday, March 13, 1993


March 13, 1993


A 25-member committee has been appointed to develop Kansas University's comprehensive master plan, KU announced Friday.

The master plan, announced in December, will address parking, building space, student housing, child care and other factors on campus.

The plan, which will steer KU's physical projects for the next 10 to 15 years, will be developed over two years.

Officials hope to work with the city and county Horizon 2020 group, which is developing a guide plan for the area.

KU's plan also will be incorporated into Program Review, KU's comprehensive restructuring effort.

"This is an excellent time to begin a planning initiative," KU Executive Vice Chancellor Ed Meyen said in a prepared statement.

"Program Review, with its focus on mission and aspirations, provided direction from the perspective of academic programs," he said. "A physical development plan for the campus should build upon academic planning."

A TIMETABLE for the plan has not yet been fully settled, said Tom Hutton, acting director of University Relations.

But according to an outline of the plan distributed to the Senate Executive Committee in December, the first phase would include hiring a planning firm and reviewing KU's 1973 master plan.

The new planning process will include public meetings, Hutton said.

Committee members for the master plan are:

Architecture Dean Max Lucus, chair; Marlin Harmony, professor of chemistry; Lindy Eakin, associate vice chancellor for administration and finanace; Edwyna Gilbert, retired professor of English; Hobart Jackson, associate professor of architecture and urban design; Edward Zamarripa, director of finance and administration at the Institute for Life Span Studies;

FINE ARTS Dean Peter Thompson; Arthur Anderson, Lawrence resident; Jean Milstead, Lawrence resident and chair of the Horizon 2020 steering committee; Mike Russell, environmental health and safety officer; Betsy Stephenson, associate director of the KU Athletic Corp.; Fred Williams, president of the KU Alumni Association;

Glee Smith, former legislator and regent; William Hougland, Wichita resident; Stanley Rolfe, Albert Learned distinguished professor of civil engineering; Sam Shanmugan, J.L. Constant distinguished professor of electrical and computer engineering; Stephen Fawcett, professor of human development and family life; Fred Van Vleck, Chancellors Club teaching professor of mathematics;

LINDA MULLENS, assistant vice chancellor for student affairs; Library Dean William Crowe; Cindy Riling, registrar of the School of Law; Michael Miller, assistant director of facilities operations; James Hamilton, Lawrence graduate student; Chris Schumm, Lawrence junior; and Laura Brophy, Prairie Village junior.

Allen Wiechert, university architect, will be responsible for development of the master plan.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.