Archive for Wednesday, January 27, 1993


January 27, 1993


A March 2 primary election will be held in several Lawrence-area communities to narrow the field of candidates for city council and school board positions. Primaries will be required in races where more than two people are filed for the position. Here are the candidates who filed by the noon Tuesday deadline:

Baldwin City Council: Gary Walbridge, incumbent council member, and Mayor Loren Litteer filed for re-election. Marilyn Pearse, the other council member whose seat is up for election, plans to run for re-election, but her name won't be on the ballot because of an incomplete filing.

Baldwin school board: Fred Schultz and Ron Skaggs have filed for Position 6; James E. Minor and Chris Ogle will run for Position 5; and Sarah Wilson, incumbent, and Larry R. Francq will run for Position 4.

Eudora City Council: Incumbents Barry Landon and Patrick Dardis, as well as Sandy Swisher, Danny Ruff and Tom Pyle, will run for the two council seats up for election. Mayor Jim Hoover also filed for re-election.

Eudora school board: Carlie Abel, Connie Ford, Ken Adkinson, Billy W. Winkle, Belinda Rehmer, Gregory A. Neis, Brenda Clark, Ernest Simon, and incumbents Calvin Hausman and Pennie von Achen will vie for the three seats up for election.

Perry-Lecompton school board: Patrick Mulvihill will run for re-election to Position 6; Kevin Wade and Gary Kraus, an incumbent, will run for Position 4; and Dan Rockhill, the current board president, will seek re-election to Position 5.

Lecompton City Council: Ed Smith is the lone candidate for the three council seats up for election.

McLouth school board: Peggy Forsberg and Ron Forshee are the candidates for Position 5; Kyle Keiling and Chris Stewart will run for Position 6; Robert Funk, Gerald N. Kelly and Joe Nave filed for Position 4; and Tim Mitts, incumbent, will seek re-election in Position 3.

McLouth City Council: Edward Mann and incumbents Douglas Walbridge and Dan Courtney will compete for the two council seats on the ballot, and Mayor William Glenn Wear filed for re-election.

Oskaloosa school board: Keith Schlusser and E. Phillip Miller will run for Position 5; Terry Bellinger, Dane Hutcherson, Rodney McNary, Larry S. Wilson and Barbara Martin-Thomas have filed for Position 4. Allen Wise and Tom Krebs are the candidates for Position 6.

Oskaloosa City Council: Clifford Houk, incumbent, and Kevin Adams will vie for the position of mayor. Jerry Robbins, Mark Tenpenny and incumbents Paul Gump and Rocky Hempel will run for the two council seats.

Wellsville school board: Ron Bloss and Tracie L. Smith filed for Position 4; Vicky LeRoy will run for Position 6; and Gale Shelton Jr. and Dwight Fossett will vie for Position 5.

Wellsville City Council: Incumbents Tim Jamison and Scott Moherman have filed for re-election. Nobody filed for the third council seat currently held by Karl Romstedt.

Tonganoxie school board: Richard Dyer, Denzel Gibbens, Laurena Seymour and Nicholas Olson will vie for Position 4; Terry Stevens, Leroy Andrews, Patricia Hinze, Ted Wiles and Steve Magner are candidates for Position 5; and Mary Journey, Bill Walker, Don Young and Marvin Torneden will run for Position 6.

Tonganoxie City Council: Ray Usher, Dennis Crupper, and incumbents Chris Hoffhines, Mike Vestal and Duane Larison will vie for three council seats.

Basehor-Linwood school board: John Sawka, William Hooker and William Lee will run for Position 4; Frank Stransky, Louis Haney and Gwen Breuer will vie for Position 5; Frank Ingels, Warren Gfeller, and Jim Shivers are candidates for Position 6; and Kerry Mueller will seek re-election to Position 3.

Linwood City Council: Rodney Kraus, incumbent, will seek re-election to the council, and Arlene Pritchard, incumbent, and Jim Shivers will vie for the position of mayor. Nobody filed for the second council seat up for election currently held by Kevin Jones.

DeSoto school board: Roger Owens will run for Position 5; Robert Friday, Larry Meyer, Jacquelyn Morris, James Plummer, and Richard J. Brazukas will vie for Position 6; and Steven Riemer and Sandra L. Thierer are the candidates for Position 4.

DeSoto City Council: James Beadle, incumbent, Mary Guntert, Tim Thrasher and Timothy Maniez will vie for the position of mayor. Todd Oswald, Charles Oswalt, Jim Cannon, Lane Sekavec, John Shultz and Terry Zahner will run for the two council seats up for election.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.