Archive for Friday, January 8, 1993


January 8, 1993


The race is on and candidates for city council and school board positions in Lawrence-area communities have started filing their intent to run. The filing deadline is noon Jan. 26.

Baldwin School District No. 348: A school board incumbent is the only candidate to file so far. Sarah Wilson will run for the Position 4 seat, which represents residents in the city of Baldwin.

Eudora School District No. 491: Gregory A. Neis is the first to announce for one of the school board's three at-large positions.

Tonganoxie School District No. 464: Controversy over the district's facilities needs is expected to result in a large turnout of candidates for school board positions, but only two people have filed so far. Ted Wiles will run for Position 5. Bill Walker is a candidate for Position 6.

Tonganoxie City Council: Incumbent Mike Vestal already is seeking re-election to an at-large position.

Basehor-Linwood School District No. 458: Two board incumbents have filed for re-election. William Hooker holds Position 4. Louis Haney wants to hold on to Position 5.

Wellsville School District No. 289: Tracie Smith has filed as a candidate for Position 4, which represents the city of Wellsville.

DeSoto School District No. 232: Roger Owens has filed for Position 5, and Robert Friday will run for Position 6.

DeSoto City Council: The mayoral race here will feature at least three candidates. Incumbent James Beadle and challengers Mary Guntert and Timothy Maniez have filed.

Perry-Lecompton School District No. 343: The sole candidate to file for a school board position is Patrick Mulvihill, an incumbent in Position 6.

Oskaloosa School District No. 341: Two candidates have filed for the same position on the school board. Allen Wise and Tom Krebs will vie for Position 6.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.