Archive for Wednesday, April 28, 1993


April 28, 1993


Army, Navy and Air Force Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC) units at Kansas University will conduct their annual joint service review at 5 p.m. Friday in Memorial Stadium.

Brig. Gen. Huba Wass de Czege, assistant division commander, 1st Infantry Division, Fort Riley, will be the reviewing officer.

Edward Meyen, KU executive vice chancellor, will be the guest of honor, and Lt. Col. Ronald Nicholl, commander of KU's Army ROTC unit, will be host commander.

Cadet Brian Howell, an Army ROTC senior, will be commander of troops for the review.

Joe Stucky of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States will present his organization's award to the outstanding cadet of each service: Cadet Darla Stencavage, Army; Jeffery A. Kolars, Navy; and Robert M. Gerleman, Air Force.

Nicholl will present the Association of the United States Army medal to Cadet Travis D. Carlisle and the Thomas Hewitt Memorial Award to Cadet Scott McIntosh.

Mr. and Mrs. Joe Sweeney will present the Rear Adm. Harold B. Miller Memorial Award to Midshipman Brent D. Johnson, and Mr. and Mrs. John Taylor will present the Christopher Taylor Memorial Award to Midshipman Dennis L. Saugstad.

Jane Wallen will present the Carter Wallen Scholarship Award to Cadet Lance A. Hobson, and Col. James Phillips will present the Dalke Memorial Award to Cadet Joseph H. Guerrein.

The ceremony is open to the public.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.