Archive for Wednesday, April 7, 1993


April 7, 1993


Following are the results of elections in Lawrence-area cities and school districts.


City Council: Incumbent Douglas Walbridge was re-elected with 101 votes, and Dan Courtney also secured a spot on the council with 115 votes. The third candidate, Edward Mann, received 50 votes.

Mayor: Mayor Glenn Wear received 130 votes and was unopposed.

School board: Incumbents Robert Funk, Peggy Forsberg and Tim Mitts were re-elected, and newcomer Kyle Keiling also will join the board. Vote totals were Funk, 239, and Joe Nave, 84, Position 4; Forsberg, 180, and Ron Forshee, 135, Position 5; Keiling, 184, and Chris Stewart, 87, Position 6; and Mitts received 251 in his lone bid for Position 3.

McLouth school district voters also approved the continuation of the district's capital outlay levy, 161 votes to 149. The 4-mill levy funds building additions, improvements and equipment. A petition was filed earlier this year to force an election on the continuation of the tax.


City Council: Incumbent Rocky Hempel retained his seat with 167 votes, but Paul Gump was ousted by Jerry Robbins, who received 165 votes. Gump had 87 votes, and the fourth candidate, Mark Tenpenny, received 55.

Mayor: Oskaloosa voters elected a new mayor Tuesday. Kevin Adams received 168 votes to beat incumbent Clifford Houk, who got 83 votes.

School board: E. Phillip Miller was elected to Position 5 with 354 votes in an unopposed contest; Terry Bellinger beat Barbara Martin-Thomas in the race for Position 4, 241 votes to 176; and Tom Krebs secured Position 6 with 234 votes. His opponent, Allen Wise, received 193 votes.


DeSoto voters cast their ballots in favor of selling the city-owned electric distribution system to Western Resources Inc. by 576 to 97 votes, but that wasn't enough. State statutes require approval from at least 51 percent of registered voters, and the measure fell 90 votes short.

City Council: Terry Zahner, with 429 votes, and Jim Cannon, with 322 votes, were elected to the city council. The other candidates were John Shultz, who received 263 votes, and Charles Oswalt, who received 236 votes.

Mayor: Mayor Jim Beadle was re-elected with 483 votes. His opponent, Timothy Maniez, received 280 votes.

School board: James Plummer beat Robert Friday, 753 to 438, in the race for Position 6. Roger Owens was unopposed and was elected to Position 5 with 826 votes. Sandra Thierer received 605 votes to secure Position 4. Her opponent, Steven Riemer, received 535 votes.


City Council: Incumbents Tim Jamison, 94 votes, and Scott Moherman, 83 votes, were re-elected. Nobody filed for the third seat, and write-in votes from Franklin County won't be available until Friday.

School board: Ron Bloss beat Tracie Smith, 251 votes to 101, in the race for Position 4. Vicky LeRoy ran unopposed for Position 6 and received 286 votes. Gale Shelton Jr. took Position 5 with 290 votes. His opponent, Dwight Fossett, received 69 votes.


Perry City Council: Incumbents DeAnn Hupe Seib and Roland Ross were re-elected to the city council, and Tom Hotchkiss beat incumbent Robert Brown for the third position. Votes received by the candidates were Hupe Seib, 131; Hotchkiss, 162; Ross, 108; Bill Culver, 95; Brown, 89; and Dick Annis, 78.

Perry-Lecompton school board: Patrick Mulvihill was re-elected to Position 6 with 664 votes, but Kevin Wade took Position 4 from incumbent Gary Kraus, 415 to 267. Dan Rockhill was re-elected to Position 5 with 633 votes.

Lecompton City Council: Ed Smith was the only name on the ballot although two council seats were up for election. He received 44 votes. Write-in candidates Carl Bahnmaier and Harold Williams, both incumbents, tied with 38 votes.

Lecompton mayor: Nobody filed for the position of mayor, but the city's current mayor, Sam Smith, received 26 write-in votes. Bill Reynolds received 10 votes for mayor.


City Council: Rodney Kraus was re-elected with 100 votes. A second position was up for election in Linwood, but write-in votes weren't available from the Leavenworth County clerk by presstime.

Mayor: Arlene Pritchard will continue to serve as mayor in Linwood. She received 91 votes, and her opponent, Jim Shivers, received 25.

Basehor-Linwood school board: John Sawka was elected to Position 4 with 1,033 votes. Incumbent William Hooker received 894 votes. Frank Ingels retained his Position 6 seat with 1,068 votes. His opponent, Warren Gfeller, received 762 votes. Frank Stransky beat Gwen Breuer in the race for the Position 5 seat, 1,086 votes to 880. And incumbent Kerry Mueller was re-elected to Position 3 with 1,358 votes.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.