Archive for Sunday, October 11, 1992


October 11, 1992


The Kansas Golf Assn. either runs or helps run 37 statewide events through the course of the year.

Event No. 37 the 36-hole stroke play KGA Club Professional tournament takes place on Monday and Tuesday at Alvamar Country Club.

"We started on May 1. It goes by so quickly," KGA executive director Brett Marshall said of the golf season. "It's been a good year. We've had some outstanding tournaments.

"This one is a fun event for us. It's our season-ending event with a small field. A lot of the players are people we work with throughout the year. It lets us end the season doing something for the golf professional."

The KGA Club Professional field will consist of 38 pros, assistant pros, apprentices or retired life members of the PGA of America who live in Kansas.

IT'S NOT UNTIL October that these golfers have time to compete in two-day events.

"Most of their section events have been completed. Most of their club events are done," Marshall said. "This is a good time for them to get away for two days. Most pro shops are closed on Mondays, but not Tuesdays. That's why we won't have 75 to 80 playing. They must have somebody in the shop. Typically an assistant stays or the head pro stays and sends his assistants."

Defending champion Rod Nuckolls of Wichita, who shot 5-under-par 139 to win last year at Wichita Reflection Ridge, will compete, along with last year's runnerup, Steve Gotsche of Great Bend.

Gotsche, a former Kansas Open winner, shot 142 last year.

Other top players in the field include Alvamar's Ross Randall and Randy Towner, plus Stan Thirsk (Kansas City CC), Billy Peterson (KC Hallbrook), David Henson (Wichita Crestview) and Tom Dawson (Topeka CC).

"OBVIOUSLY Rod Nuckolls is the choice," Marshall said, asked to pick a favorite in the sixth-annual event. "He's won it twice. Steve won the Kansas Open.

"Stan Thirsk actually won this tournament two years ago, but signed an incorrect card," Marshall added, referring to a recent inductee in the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame.

The winner will receive $1,500.

Tee times in Scoreboard

Commenting has been disabled for this item.