Archive for Monday, October 5, 1992


October 5, 1992


A year of effort and hard work culminated in a celebration on Sunday for Douglas County 4-H members.

"We're definitely a growing program," said Barbara Lilyhorn, county extension agent who oversees the 4-H program. "We've had two new groups started this year alone."

Sunday marked the Sixth Annual Douglas County 4-H Achievement Celebration. More than 300 people attended the awards ceremony, held at the Lawrence Holidome.

Lilyhorn estimates Douglas County membership in the club at 600 and growing. The program brings education to the youth in Douglas County, Lilyhorn said.

AND ONCE people get involved in the program, they have a tendency to stay within the program, she said.

This year's 4-H family award went to the Larry Walters family of the Meadowlark 4-H Club. The Walterses, including his wife and their two children, have a combined total of 75 years of involvement in the program.

Janine Crawford, 18, a member of the Kanwaka 4-H Club, has been in the program for seven years.

"My neighbors got me started in going to the meetings," Crawford said. "And I realized it was something I wanted to do."

Crawford won various awards at this year's ceremony, including the 4-H Key Award, but she said she still has one goal she wants to achieve.

"EACH YEAR I hope for something high in the photography division," Crawford said. "I keep telling myself I'm going to stick with it until I do, but now I only have one year left in the program."

The award Crawford is hoping to win, the Kodak Photography Leader Award, this year went to Don Whipple, Worden Workers 4-H Club.

Other special awards and their winners were:

Friend of 4-H Award, Gilbert Gilges; Achievement Awards, Debbie Friberg, Palmyra 4-H Club; John Patchen, Lone Star 4-H Club; "I Dare You" Award, Tara Flory, Four Leaf Clover 4-H Club, Jennifer Lehman, Four Leaf Clover 4-H Club; 4-H Spirit Award, Debbie Friberg, Palmyra 4-H Club; Key Awards, Janine Crawford, Kanwaka 4-H Club, Tara Flory, Four Leaf Clover 4-H Club, John Patchen, Lone Star 4-H Club, Leanne Vesecky, Vinland Valley 4-H Club, Heather Walters, Meadowlark 4-H Club; Florine Alexander Award, Lanna Combs, Marion Boosters 4-H Club; 4-H Alumni Award, Dr. John Vesecky, Vinland Valley 4-H Club; Dorothy Akin Leadership Award, Marcia McFarlane, Cottonwood 4-H Club.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.