Archive for Sunday, October 4, 1992


October 4, 1992


Four Kansas University students have been nominated to compete nationally for Rhodes or Marshall scholarships, or both.

J. Michael Young, director of the KU Honors Program, announced the nominees, who were selected by a nine-member committee at the university. Final selection for Rhodes scholarships will be made by district committees on Dec. 5. Finalists for Marshall scholarships will be named in late November.

Following are the student nominees:

Pamela McElwee is a senior majoring in environmental studies and political science. She is the daughter of Carl and Margery McElwee, Rt. 2, and is a recipient of national Truman and Goldwater scholarships.

Ronald Mallon, a senior majoring in English in philosophy, is the son of Jerry and Barbara Mallon, Salina. He has received several KU awards, including and Undergraduate Research Award, the Martha Cook Scholarship in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and the Nelson scholarship in philosophy.

Jason Wittmer, a senior majoring in chemistry, is the son of Loren and Jeannene Wittmer, Wichita. His academic awards include the Cromwell Merit, Spahr Sciences, Malone Chemistry, Summerfield and National Merit scholarships.

Michael Schreiner, a spring 1992 graduate in business and an honors graduate in history, is the son of Ron and Barb Schreiner, Wakeeney. A former KU student body president, his awards include the Dane Hansen Scholarship, the Hilltopper Award for academic and leadership excellence, and the Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Award.

Applications for state and regional review are due Oct. 12 for Marshall competition and Oct. 19 for Rhodes competition. The scholarships provide funds for graduate study in Britain.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.