Archive for Friday, October 2, 1992


October 2, 1992


Three members of the Kansas University Alumni Association will be honored next Friday as winners of the Fred Ellsworth Medallion, the association's highest honor for service to KU.

Award recipients are W.C. "Dub" Hartley of Mission Hills, and Todd Seymour and Deanell Reece Tacha, both of Lawrence.

Since 1975, the association has awarded 92 medallions in memory of Fred Ellsworth, the association's longtime executive secretary, who retired in 1963 after 39 years of service. Recipients are chosen by a committee representing the KU chancellor's office, the alumni association, the KU Intercollegiate Athletic Assn. and the KU Endowment Association.

Hartley was chairman of the Miami County National Bank, Paola, and president of the Kansas Bankers Assn. from 1978 to 1979. He also was chairman of the Communications Council and was on the board of directors of the American Bankers Assn.

As investment director for the Louis W. and Dolpha Baehr Charitable Foundation Trust, he has helped arrange contributions to the KU Medical Center, the Baehr Audio-Reader Center and the Dole Center.

In 1990 he and his family established a fund for the W.C. Hartley Family Center for Hearing Impaired Children at the KU Medical Center.

The Hartleys are joint life members of the alumni association and members of its Development Committee, which communicates the needs of higher education to the Kansas Legislature.

He is a past member of the Greater University Fund Advisory Board, the Campaign Kansas National Council and Medical Center Fund-Raising Committee. He and his wife, Patricia, have been Chancellors Club and Williams Educational Fund members since the funds began.

He obtained his bachelor's degree from KU in 1946.

SEYMOUR IS former president of the KU Endowment Association. He was with the association for 32 years, beginning as assistant director of the Greater University Fund in 1959. He became managing director of the fund, managing director of the Program for Progress and assistant executive secretary, corporate secretary and president of the endowment association. He was elected president of the board of trustees in 1974 and served until he retired in 1991.

During his term as president, the association's investments increased from $44 million to $287 million, and annual direct support to KU grew from $7.5 million to $33.6 million. He also served on the executive board and steering committee for Campaign Kansas, which raised $262.9 million between July 1, 1987, and June 30, 1992.

As president, he was instrumental in founding the alumni association's Kansas Honors Program, which honors the top 10 percent of Kansas high school seniors.

He is a former director of the American Alumni Council, now known as the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. He received the 1976 Distinguished Service Award from the organization's Mid-America District for his fund-raising and alumni relations achievements.

Seymour earned his bachelor's degree from KU in 1950.

He and his wife, Jeannot Barnes Seymour, are joint life alumni association members and Chancellors Club and Williams Educational Fund members.

TACHA IS a judge of the 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals and a former KU law professor and administrator. After earning her law degree at the University of Michigan, she was named a White House Fellow for 1971-72 and practiced with a Washington law firm before returning to KU in 1974.

She directed the Legal Aid Clinic and served as a professor and associate dean in the School of Law. She became associate vice chancellor and, in 1981, vice chancellor for academic affairs. President Reagan appointed her to the federal court in 1985.

She has been especially involved with the alumni association. She was national president in 1988-89 and served on the Membership Development and Services, Awards and Recognition, Campaign Kansas Liaison, Development, Finance and Adams Center Director's Search committees. She continues on the Executive, Communications and Information Systems committees and is a member of the Task Force on Corporate Sponsorship.

She has assisted the endowment association as a member of the Campaign Kansas steering committee and School of Fine Arts Fund-Raising Committee. She is an alumni association life member, and she and her husband, John, are Chancellors Club and Williams Educational Fund members. She obtained her bachelor's degree at KU in 1968.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.