Archive for Monday, November 23, 1992


November 23, 1992


Eight local business owners and executives have been nominated to three-year terms on the 25-member Lawrence Chamber of Commerce's board of directors.

New directors will begin serving their terms on April 1, when the next chamber business year begins. The chamber's nominees and their professional affiliations are:

John Elmore, First National Bank; Steve Johnson, KPL; Marty Kennedy, Kennedy Glass Inc.; Jim Martin, Kansas University Endowment Association; Tom Murray, Barber, Emerson, Springer, Zinn & Murray law firm; Elaine Nelson, Sallie Mae, the Student Loan Servicing Center; Dan Simons, the World Co.; and Todd Sutherland, University National Bank.

The slate was prepared by a directors nominating committee and will be approved by the chamber's board of directors on Dec. 16 unless chamber members submit at-large nominations by Dec. 7.

An at-large nomination consists of a petition signed by at least 25 chamber members in good standing representing 25 membership accounts. If any valid petitions are presented, the chamber will hold an election by mail. Members will receive ballots by Dec. 15.

Directors who are completing the third year of their terms are: Arly Allen, Allen Press Inc.; Nadine Button, Bogner & Button, CPA; Elmore; Joe Flannery, Weavers Inc.; Tim Fritzel, Gene Fritzel Construction Co. Inc.; John Humphrey, Hallmark Cards Inc.; Scott Shmalberg, Scotch Fabric Care Services; and Elaine VanDeventer, First National Bank.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.