Archive for Wednesday, May 6, 1992


May 6, 1992


The Kansas University English department distributed cash awards totaling $15,000 to its faculty, staff and students at an honors banquet held recently at Alvamar Country Club.

There were 11 award categories for outstanding teaching and research and general excellence in literature, and eight awards were given in writing competitions.

Awards and categories were:

Poetry: William Herbert Carruth Memorial Poetry contest winners were Konnie Leffler, first; Becket Warren, second; Marlon Ohnesorge-ick, third. Harry and Jessie Jacobs Poetry Prize, Tamyra Heim, first; Elizabeth Thomas and Sonya Lancaster, second.

Fiction: Edgar Wolfe Award, Tess James, first; and honorable mention to Christy Prahl, Heather Swartz, Leslie Reynard and Karl Woelz. Harry and Jessie Jacobs Fiction Prize, Amy Stuber, first; Laura Moriarty and Carolyn Moran, second. Edna Osborn Whitcomb Award, Brent Suiter.

Playwriting: Grant K. Goodman Playwriting Award, Kenneth Willard, first; Daniel Schwabauer, second; Kim Hewett and Michael Brandt, third. Willard's play now is scheduled for a staged reading in the 1992-93 season of English Alternative Theatre.

Essays: Helen Rhoda Hoopes Award for undergraduate women, Hershini Bhana, first; Leah Peck, second; Deborah Massie, third. Harry and Jessie Jacobs Non-fiction Prize, Carolyn Moran, first; Kiesa Kay, second; Marlon Ohnesorge-Fick, third.

Awards for excellence in the study of literature were given to the following: Edwin M. Hopkins award, graduate students Larry Bradfield and Carl Marcus Hammann, and undergraduate Laura Nuttman; the Kenneth Rockwell award, graduate student Karen Hellekson, and undergraduate Christine Park; the William P. Albrecht award, Steve Evans; Martha Jane Miller Stoneback scholarship, Heidi Colleen Fletemeyer; James B. Kennedy scholarship, Jayson Harsin, Neal Climenhaga, Craig Durham and Leah Peck.

Outstanding instructor awards for graduate teaching assistants in their second year of teaching were divided among Lesley Brown, Frank Doden, Steve Evans and Dan Murtaugh.

Other teaching awards went to: Ellen Kaler Redding, the James A. Gowen Memorial Award; Lori Askeland and Steve Evans, the Selden Lincoln Whitcomb fellowship; Maureen Godman, the first recipient of the Douglas G. Merrill award for outstanding teaching and potential scholarly achievement.

Research and teaching awards for full-time faculty went to Bernard Hirsch and Tom Lorenz, recipients of the Edward F. Grier and Mabel S. Fry awards, respectively.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.