Archive for Saturday, May 2, 1992


May 2, 1992


Lawrence High's Nate Penny is among the 11 players who will receive scholar-athlete awards from the Jayhawk Chapter of the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame.

The 11 high school seniors will be honored at the Chapter's banquet, May 13 at the Adams Alumni Center. Speakers will be NCAA executive director Dick Schultz and KU football coach Glen Mason.

Recipients were chosen from the 62 high schools in northeast Kansas. Along with Penny, those selected were: Robert Calovich, Tonganoxie; Beau Caryl, Topeka; Gerald Gladbach, Shawnee Mission Miege; Scott Jagodzinski, Shawnee Heights; Mark Lange, Atchison Maur Hill; Ray Moran, Immaculata; Matthew Piercy, Overland Park Aquinas; Keith Rodgers, SM Northwest; Brian Schottenheimer, Blue Valley North and Ryan Weers, Louisburg.

Also at the banquet, former Lawrence High coach Al Woolard, who led Lawrence to a 153-12-5 record in 19 seasons, will receive the foundation's "Contribution to Amateur Football" award.

Tickets are $16 and are available by sending a check to Jayhawk Chapter, CFHOF, P.O. Box 974, Lawrence, 66044.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.