Archive for Tuesday, March 31, 1992


March 31, 1992


Eighteen local nurses have been nominated for this year's "Nursing: The Heart of Healthcare" award program sponsored by the Kansas University School of Nursing.

Nominations were solicited during February for current practicing nurses in Kansas and the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Nominations came from patients and patients' families, co-workers, employers, friends and families. A selection commitee of 20 health care leaders will narrow the nominations to a final 10 to be recognized at a May 1 banquet at the Hyatt Regency Crown Center in Kansas City, Mo. Selection is based on the nurses' contributions to patient care, the nursing profession and the community.

Kaiser Permanente and Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas, award sponsors of the program, also will participate in the selection process.

Winners will be announced Sunday.

Lawrence Memorial Hospital nurses nominated for the award were Melanie Davis, Barbra Parker, Connie C. Hickman, Shirley V. Sawyer, Louisa K. Kamatuka, Barbara L. Parker, Susan Gillett Givens, Ruth Mitchell and Sandra Dolezal.

Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department nurses nominated were Kay Kent and Elizabeth Ann Ailor.

Other Douglas County nurses nominated were Rita Vanessa Tracy, Washburn University; Barbara Ann Nelson, Douglas County Visiting Nurses Assn.; Nnena N. Egorugwa, Kansas University; Sylvia Neis, Eudora Nursing Center; Janet Ann Serivner, Presbyterian Manor; Joni Lawrence, Lawrence Family Practice Center; and Peggy K. Rodriguez, Brandon Woods Retirement Community.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.