Archive for Wednesday, June 10, 1992


June 10, 1992


A Democratic candidate for Douglas County Commission emerged, but there were no other surprises today as the deadline fell at noon for candidates to file for county offices.

As a result, there will be only one primary for Douglas County's courthouse positions a two-way Republican battle for the 2nd District commission seat being vacated by Democrat Mike Amyx.

And barring runs by independent opponents, three courthouse incumbents will go unchallenged for their positions in the fall: County Clerk Patty Jaimes, a Republican; Sheriff Loren Anderson, a Republican; and Register of Deeds Sue Neustifter, a Democrat.

Amyx's decision not to seek re-election brought out a total of four candidates for the 2nd District commission seat: two Republicans, a Democrat and a Libertarian.

THE TWO Republicans who will fight it out in the Aug. 4 primary are Paul Shivel, 60, Lawrence, who works in the Eudora office of Miller & Midyett Realtors and Insurers, and Ralph M. Tanner, 65, Baldwin, former president of Baker University

Tanner, who was Baker's president from 1979 to 1987, most recently served for 2 years as president for the Kansas Independent College Fund. Tanner, who announced earlier he would run for the spot, did not file until this morning, when he presented petitions to the Douglas County clerk's office.

Shivel, who lives at 401 E. 15th Pl., is the former owner of Great Lanes Resurfacing, a company that resurfaced bowling alleys.

The winner of that primary will face Democrat James Chappell, a 31-year-old Lawrence attorney, and Libertarian Damon Black, a rural Lawrence man who filed Monday.

THE ONLY surprise this morning for a courthouse position was when Democrat I.J. Stoneback, a former county commissioner, filed for the 3rd District commission seat.

Stoneback, will face incumbent Republican Louie McElhaney, who filed May 16 for a second four-year term.

In the local district attorney's race, Republican incumbent Jerry Wells will face Democrat James Rumsey.

And in the treasurer's race, Republican incumbent Nancy Hempen will face Democrat Pat Wells.

Because legislative and congressional district seats were reapportioned this year, the deadline for filing for those seats was extended to noon June 24.

THERE WILL be a GOP primary for the 45th District seat. Bob Skahan, Lawrence, will face Martha Parker, who lives near Clinton. Democratic incumbent Rep. John Solbach has not yet filed.

Neva Entrikin, a Republican, has filed for the eastern Lawrence 46th District seat. But Democratic incumbent Betty Jo Charlton has not yet announced her intentions.

Republican Brian Kubota is the only candidate so far for the western Lawrence 44th District seat.

No candidate had filed yet this morning for the 47th District seat, although incumbent Republican Joann Flower, Oskaloosa, has said she would run again.

Lawrence's Senate seat has brought out two candidates Sandy Praeger, a Republican who has represented the 44th House District, and Democrat Forrest Swall.

Independent candidates can file by petition only. Their deadline is noon Aug. 3 to be listed on the Nov. 3 ballot.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.