Archive for Friday, July 17, 1992


July 17, 1992


With the Aug. 4 primary about 2 weeks away, four events have been scheduled, including two televised forums, to allow voters to see candidates in area contested primary races.

The Douglas County Republican Women will hold an ice cream social featuring area GOP candidates at 7 p.m. Sunday at Watkins Park, 11th and Massachusetts. A donation will be accepted for refreshments.

The GOP women's group has sent invitations to Republican candidates running for area congressional races, legislative races and courthouse seats.

Meanwhile, the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce plans to hold two events on Monday for candidates in Republican and Democratic primary races for Kansas' 3rd Congressional District seat.

IN THE Republican primary, incumbent Jan Meyers, Overland Park, has three primary opponents: State Rep. Kerry Patrick, Leawood; Gary Adams, Prairie Village; and Jim Hall, Stilwell. Two Democrats are running for the seat: State Rep. Tom Love, Kansas City, Kan., and George Davis, Olathe.

The chamber will hold a reception for those candidates from 4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday at The Eldridge Hotel, 701 Mass.

The chamber will also sponsor a forum featuring the congressional candidates, at 7 p.m. Monday at Lawrence's city hall. That forum will be televised live by Sunflower Cablevision, Channel 6, and will be broadcast by KLWN-AM radio station.

Both chamber-sponsored events are open to members of the public, who can submit questions to be used for the forum.

THE CHAMBER also plans to sponsor a second televised forum at 7 p.m. on July 27 for area legislative primary contests and for the primary contest for a Douglas County Commission seat.

The contested races featured at that forum are:

The GOP primary for the 2nd District county commission seat, which features Paul Shivel, Lawrence, and Ralph Tanner, Baldwin. The winner will face Democrat James Chappel and Libertarian Damon Black in the fall.

The GOP primary for western Lawrence's 44th District Kansas House seat, which features Repupblicans Brian Kubota and Michael Walsh. The winner will face Democrat Barbara Ballard and Libertarian Jay D. Germano.

The Republican contest for the 45th District House seat, featuring Martha Parker, rural Clinton, and Bob Skahan, Lawrence. The winner will face Democrat Forrest Swall and Libertarian Michael Davidson.

The GOP primary for the 47th District seat, featuring incumbent Joann Flower, Oskaloosa, and Tom Lemon, Meriden. The district is composed of Jefferson County and northeast Douglas County, including Eudora. The Republican winner will face Democrat Kaye Messer, Ozawkie.

The Republican primary for the 19th Senate District seat, which, after reapportionment, now includes northeast Douglas County. That race features three Republicans, Wesley Glenn, Topeka; Walter Myers, Baldwin; and Donn Reading, Topeka. The winner will face Democratic incumbent Anthony Hensley, Topeka.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.