Archive for Sunday, July 12, 1992


July 12, 1992


— Ten Lawrence golfers are in the field of the 82nd Kansas Amateur golf championship that begins Tuesday at Willowbend Golf Club.

Included among the 10 are Jeff Moeller and Lynn Riney, who advanced to the quarterfinals of last year's match play competition at Alvamar Country Club before bowing.

Also entered from Lawrence are KU golfer Matt Gogel, a former Big Eight champion, and John Catlin, a former Class 6A state high school champion. Rounding out the group of Lawrence entrants are Casey Brozek, Chad Derusseau, Mike Moddrell, Chris Hutchens, Andy Bengtson and David Kosbab.

After 36 holes of stroke play on Tuesday and Wednesday, the 125-man field will be cut to the low 64 scores. Match play begins on Thursday. The 36-hole championship is set for Sunday.

IN LAST YEAR'S final at Alvamar CC, Wichita's John Loomis claimed his first Amateur title by rallying on the final two holes to claim a one-up victory over Allen French of Topeka.

Loomis was one stroke down heading to the 35th hole, but birdied the par-five hole to knot the match. Then he parred the final hole while French bogeyed. Both Loomis and French are in this year's field.

Willowbend GC, which opened in the fall of 1987, is hosting its first Kansas Amateur championship.

"This will be a much different type of golf course than last year," KGA executive director Brett Marshall said. "Willowbend is a little more forgiving off the tee, but the areas around the green may be more difficult."

In addition to Loomis, two other former champions are in the field Roger Brown (1967) and Johnny Stevens (1960-61).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.