Archive for Friday, January 10, 1992


January 10, 1992


— Three Lawrence youths earned first-place trophies at the 25th annual Northeast Kansas Junior Achievement banquet here Thursday night.

Ben Singer, a senior at Lawrence High School, was named president of the year. Suzy Davis, a junior at LHS, was selected the top vice president of human resources. And Jenny Elston, a ninth-grader at South Junior High School, was chosen No. 1 all-star producer.

Elston led a Lawrence sweep in the all-star producer category. Rory Taylor won the second-place trophy and Lyndie Spring earned third place. Taylor and Spring also are South Junior High ninth-graders.

Other JA members from Lawrence who earned trophies were Rick Eubanks, LHS sophomore, third in vice president of production, and Diane Foster, West Junior High ninth-grader, third in best speaker.

Singer, Elston and Spring were affiliated with a JA company sponsored by Sallie Mae. Davis, Taylor and Foster represented a company sponsored by Kmart Distribution Center. Eubanks was affiliated with a company sponsored by Bendix-King.

Cash Money Posse, sponsored by Hallmark Cards, was third in competition for company of the year.

Five other Lawrence JA members were given executive awards. They were Allen Bartels, Shannon Mock, Twyla Blackbird, Mike Crane and Kelly Shoemaker. Bartels is an LHS senior; the others are juniors.

A total of 185 JA participants in the Lawrence-Topeka area were recognized at Thursday's banquet.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.