Archive for Thursday, August 20, 1992


August 20, 1992


Four Kansas University professors will hold Chancellor's Awards for Distinguished Teaching in their schools, and an art and architecture librarian will hold the Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Librarianship for the 1992-93 academic year.

The professors are Nita Sundbye, professor and chair of the curriculum and instruction department, and Pat Gallagher, professor of special education, both named Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Professors of Education; Sandra Hanson, assistant professor of nursing, honored as Chancellor's Distinguished Professor in Teaching Nursing; and Dennis Saleebey, professor of social welfare, named Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Professor in Social Welfare. Each will receive a $5,000 cash award.

Susan Craig, head of the Murphy Library of Art and Architecture, is the Chancellor's Distinguished Librarian for the academic year. She receives a $2,500 cash award.

The awardees were introduced by Edward Meyen, executive vice chancellor for the Lawrence campus, at KU's opening convocation Tuesday in Crafton-Preyer Theatre in Murphy Hall. Chancellor Gene A. Budig greeted each of them.

In making the presentations, Meyen said: "The University of Kansas is one of very few universities that recognizes excellence in classroom teaching through the bestowal of teaching professorships and through awards for excellence throughout one's teaching career. These designations are reserved for those among our faculty who have distinguished themselves throughout their years at KU for commitment to students and for sustained excellence in the transmittal of knowledge."

Commenting has been disabled for this item.