Archive for Tuesday, August 18, 1992


August 18, 1992


The names of 96 outstanding Kansas high school graduates receiving prestigious Summerfield and Watkins-Berger scholarships to attend Kansas University for the upcoming academic year have been announced by the University Scholarship Center.

Chancellor Gene A. Budig will address the new scholars at 3 p.m. Thursday at the Kansas Union. After his address, Budig and other KU administrators and faculty members will meet with the scholars on the lawn of the chancellor's residence from 3:30 to 5 p.m.

Fall classes begin Monday.

Summerfield scholarships for men and Watkins-Berger scholarships for women are among the highest honors KU bestows on undergraduates from Kansas high schools, according to Marti Ruel, University Scholarship Center director. Scholars receive $1,000 a year for four years if they maintain a minimum 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

TO BE SELECTED, Kansas high school seniors must be National Merit semifinalists or National Merit commended students or have scored a composite score of 31 or higher on the ACT, the American College Test. In addition, these seniors exhibit a commitment to learning and demonstrate superior achievement and potential.

Summerfield scholarships are funded through an endowment established by the late Solon E. Summerfield, a Lawrence native and KU graduate.

Watkins-Berger scholarships are financed by the estate of the late Elizabeth M. Watkins of Lawrence and an endowment in memory of Emily Berger, a KU student, by her brother, the late Arthur Berger of Dallas.

The KU Endowment Association administers the funds of both scholarships.

RECIPIENTS, all of whom will be KU freshmen, and their hometowns:

Douglas B. Roberson, Galena; Sandra M. Archer, Jonathan D. Glauner, Kari A. Rogg, Gary F. Scanlon Jr., Jessica R. Small and Mark C. Stover, all of Lawrence.

Lisa V. Nelson, Iola; Courtney S. Peltzer, Atchison; Stephany D. Kimball, Fort Scott; Donald J. Law, Albert; Sara L. Peckham, Claflin; Tamara L. Box, and Christopher D. Warren, Augusta; Daniel C. Ricke, Rose Hill.

Angela M. Linn and Kurt E. Sherry, both of Abilene; Jason D. Swink, Howard; Anh Q. Vu, Garden City; Tamara L. Slankard, Ottawa; Kori L. Holbert, Wellsville; Jeffrey M. Wilson, Junction City; Christopher T. Heiman, Hill City.

Jason R. Funk, McLouth; Robyn M. Saving, Oskaloosa; Gene Kevin Liu, Gardner; Christine E. DeMartini, Kevin J. McDonald, Jason L. Nachtrab, Harvind S. Samra, Michael O. Schoneman, and Matthew E. Smith, all of Lenexa.

Laurel K. Hudson, Scott T. Jarboe, Melanie T. McRoy, Kevin E. Roper, Sara L. Sawyer, and Tahoma M. Toelkes, all of Olathe; Jason R. Greenway, Brian J. Nab, Jared W. Nave, Uyen M. Nguyen, and Rebecca J. Quinn, all of Overland Park.

Douglas M. Beyer, Michael J. Enenbach, Amanda M. Hostetler, Donald K. Mayfield, and Matthew R. Milroy, all of Prairie Village; Deborah R. Lee, Christopher D. Olsen, and Cy K. Routh, all of Shawnee; James C. Heim, Lansing.

Keil G. Brumit and Meredith L. Seymour, both of Leavenworth; Matthew L. Burenheide, Jeremy D. Nelson, and Heather L. Walters, all of Emporia; Alec B. Hendryx, Coffeyville; Barabara S. Carroll, Independence; Stacy D. Burk, Louisburg.

Richard E. Zousel, Richfield; Shannon L. Peterson, Atwood; Kristi M. Hankley, Manhattan; Zachary M. Alexander and Aaron J. Killgore, both of Salina; Colleen J. McCain and Paul J. Mills, both of Hutchinson; Christopher J. Leopold and Mitchel J. Zimmerman, both of Hoxie.

LeAnne M. Zoglman, Cheney; Brian W. Griffin and Yvonne M. Murtha, both of Derby; Travis C. Schupp, Valley Center; Scott A. Anderson, Julie L. Baker, Helen S. Cheng, Christine D. Dixon, Malin K. Huffman, Amanda S. Mead, Nicole R. Mercer, Alayna M. Miller, Jeffrey S. Schroering, Ellen E. Squire and Matthew F. Wallace, all of Wichita.

Charlotte A. Armentrout, Peter W. Bryant, Ashleigh M. delaTorre, Neil C. Hague, Jennifer M. Johnson, Joanna N. Pomerantz and Christopher W. Reedy, all of Topeka; Jennifer K. Ashby, Mulvane; Tonya S. Ruder, WaKeeney.

Mitchell H. McClure, Thayer; and Sumita K. Debroy and Holly M. Winchell, both of Kansas City, Kan.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.