Archive for Thursday, September 19, 1991


September 19, 1991


A Lawrence Chamber of Commerce committee is asking members to suggest nominees to fill eight positions on the organization's board of directors, which will become vacant March 31.

Chamber spokesman Ann Wiklund said the nominating committee, headed by Chet Vanatta, will consider suggested nominees before assembling an eight-person slate to present to the chamber membership. The committee asks chamber members who would like to suggest nominees to submit recommendations by Oct. 1.

Once the slate is chosen, members of the chamber at large then will have an opportunity to make additional nominations by petition. The chamber's bylaws require that petitions carry the signatures of 25 chamber members representing 25 different chamber accounts. Deadlines for petitions will be announced later.

If other nominations are received, a vote of the membership will be scheduled.

However, Wiklund said that if no at-large nominations are made, the slate will be approved by the chamber's board of directors at its December meeting.

New chamber directors will serve three-year terms on the 25-member board, starting on April 1, the beginning of the chamber's business year.

Current directors whose terms are scheduled to expire are: Vanatta, Pat Ross, Ed Meyen, John Lungstrum, Brian Kubota, Peggy Johnson, Nancy Hiebert and Gary Sollars.

David Evans, current chairman-elect, will become chairman April 1. Another nominating committee will pick a new chairman-elect and three vice chairmen early next year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.