Archive for Thursday, November 7, 1991


November 7, 1991


Seven former KU basketball players will have their jerseys retired and displayed in Allen Fieldhouse.

The seven, along with representatives of KU's four national championship teams, will be honored during halftime ceremonies of selected home games this season.

The players who will have their jerseys not numbers retired are Paul Endacott, Charles T. Black, Charles B. Black, Clyde Lovellette, B.H. Born, Wilt Chamberlain and Danny Manning.

In addition, KU will honor Lynette Woodard, who already has her jersey and jersey number retired.

"The 1991-92 season represents a part of the centennial celebration of basketball and we felt it was appropriate to honor the great teams and players who have played a meaningful role in our basketball history," KU athletic director Bob Frederick said.

Six of the seven were selected national collegiate player of the year or most outstanding player in the NCAA Tournament. The seventh Charles B. Black is KU's only four-time All-American.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.