Archive for Friday, May 10, 1991


May 10, 1991


Eight Kansas University faculty members will be honored for their teaching abilities during KU commencement exercises.

Winners of the H. Bernerd Fink Award, the Silver Anniversary Teaching Award, three Burlington Northern Foundation Faculty Achievement Awards and three Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Teaching will be honored during commencement ceremonies, 2:30 p.m. May 19 in Memorial Stadium.

Diane Fourny, assistant professor of French and Italian, won the H. Bernerd Fink Award for outstanding classroom teaching. The award is made to "a teacher who has contributed to the development of students into worthwhile and successful citizens, imbued with a continued desire for learning." The award, which includes a $2,000 prize, was established in 1961 by H. Bernerd and Ruth Fink of Topeka.

Robert H. Goldstein, assistant professor of geology, is winner of the Silver Anniversary Teaching Award. It was established by members of the KU class of 1960 during their 25-year reunion to recognize someone who has taught at KU less than seven years. It includes a $1,000 prize. Goldstein will not receive his award at the ceremonies because he will be on a field trip in New Mexico.

This year's winners of the Burlington Northern Foundation Achievement Awards are Daryl Evans, associate professor of sociology; Gerald Mikkelson, professor of Slavic languages and literatures and of Soviet and East European studies; and Jack B. Wright, professor of theater and film and director of University Theatre.

The awards, of $2,500 each, were established in 1986 by Burlington Northern to recognize outstanding university teaching and to reward teacher and faculty-scholar excellence. At commencement time, Mikkelson will be in Moscow to present a paper at an international conference.

Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Teaching of $1,000 each will go to Dr. Cheng T. Cho, professor of pediatrics at the KU Medical Center, Kansas City, Kan.; Wilfred Dunn, professor and chairwoman of the occupational therapy program at the KU Medical Center; and Dr. Donna Sweet, professor of internal medicine at the School of Medicine-Wichita.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.