Archive for Wednesday, May 1, 1991


May 1, 1991


The Army, Navy and Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps units at Kansas University will conduct their annual joint service review on Friday.

Maj. Gen. F. X. Hamilton Jr., commander of the Marine Corps Logistics Base, Albany, Ga., will be the reviewing officer during the ceremony, which will be at 5 p.m. in Memorial Stadium. Hamilton was the Marine officer instructor in KU's Navy ROTC unit from 1973-76.

The guest of honor will be David Ambler, vice chancellor for student affairs. Capt. Shannon R. Butler, current commander of KU's Navy ROTC unit, will be the host commander.

In addition to the three units of cadets and midshipmen, a joint-service color guard and the Wentworth Military Academy Band from Lexington, Mo., will participate.

Midshipman Jonathan H. Boldt, a Navy ROTC senior, is the commander of troops for the review. The Army ROTC will be commanded by Cadet Leo J. Mahoney IV, the Navy unit will be commanded by Midshipman Jeffrey S. Messerly, and the Air Force ROTC unit will be commanded by Cadet Joseph-Lewis Prue.

Awards will be presented to the members of each ROTC unit. Joe Stucky of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States will present the Loyal Legion Award to one outstanding student from each service.

The students receiving the award are Mahoney, Army ROTC; Brent R. Johnson, Navy ROTC; and Todd S. Brace, Air Force ROTC.

Lt. Col. William R. McGaha, commander of the Army ROTC unit, will present the Association of the U.S. Army Medal to Cadet Marc A. Proctor. The Thomas Hewitt Memorial Award will be presented by Mrs. Diane McCarville to Cadet Michael W. Ducey Jr.

Richard Rowley, president of the Greater Kansas City Council of the Navy League of the United States, will present a Marine officer's sword to Midshipman Jonathan Boldt. The Lt. Christopher Taylor Memorial Award will be presented to Midshipman Derrick R. Heyl.

Col. James C. Phillips, commander of the Air Force ROTC unit, will present the John O. Dalke Memorial Award to Cadet David C. Smith. Mrs. Carter Wallen will present the Carter Wallen Memorial Award to Cadet Michael Schlotterbach.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.