Archive for Friday, March 1, 1991


March 1, 1991


The Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center will kick off its $250,000 capital fund drive Tuesday at its fifth annual Pioneer Award Ceremony.

Sandra J. Shaw, Bert Nash chief executive officer, said the drive will be called "Building Independence."

"We're kicking it off at our Pioneer Ceremony because it marks the beginning of supported housing in Douglas County," Shaw said in a news release. "It's a long-awaited service, and this first four-plex is just a beginning of what is needed.''

Norma Stephens, superintendent of Osawatomie State Hospital, will be guest speaker.

During the ceremony, the Bert Nash Center will give the 1991 Pioneer Awards to Jessie Branson and the Lawrence Kiwanis Club.

Several staff awards also will be presented. Shaw will receive a 20-year award; Linda Groninger, a 10-year award; and Dale Creamer, Susan Eakins, Joyce Halderman, JoAnne Lorenz, Trish McSwain and John Throne will receive five-year awards.

In addition, Doug Witt, a psychologist at the center, will be honored for his 18 years of service. Witt, director of outpatient services, recently accepted a job with the Mental Health Consortium of Kansas in Topeka.

The ceremony is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Crystal Room of the Eldridge Hotel, Seventh and Massachusetts.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.