Archive for Saturday, July 13, 1991


July 13, 1991


Lawrence school board members Friday unanimously elected Mary Loveland as board president and Barbara Ballard as vice president for the 1991-92 school year.

Traditionally, those posts have been determined by voter support that board members received when they were elected to the board.

Former President Maggie Carttar retired in June, and board members chose Loveland as Carttar's successor because she came in behind Carttar in the 1987 school board race.

Ballard was elected vice president because she was the top vote-getter in the 1989 school board election.

The selections were part of the board's annual organizational meeting.

LOVELAND WELCOMED new board members Tom Murray and Jerry Hannah, who officially started their board positions July 1.

Hannah brought up a number of organizational topics beyond those that are usually discussed during the annual organizational meetings. He said the board could increase public interest in its meetings by holding one board meeting each month at a different school in the district, or by having board meetings broadcast on Sunflower Cablevision.

Hannah already has spoken with Sunflower representatives about broadcasting the board meetings, and Sunflower is looking into the feasibility of that proposal.

WHILE BOARD members said they would be thrilled to have such broadcasts, they were less supportive of the suggestion to rotate board meetings among schools.

"I think that's very confusing to people," said board member Harriet Shaffer. "I think sometimes when we've changed the (meeting) time, that's been confusing enough for people."

For years the board has held its meetings at the Lawrence High School library, but on Sept. 9 the board will begin meeting at the district's new administration center at 3705 Clinton Pkwy.

HANNAH SUGGESTED that board meetings begin at 7 p.m. instead of 7:30 p.m., saying that that change would allow meetings to end earlier in the evening. However, board members rejected the proposal, saying that people who work until 5 p.m. might have to rush through supper and other domestic duties to get to the meetings on time.

The board did accept Hannah's proposal to designate a board meeting agenda item specifically for public comments. Hannah also requested that Craig Fiegel, the district's director for business and facilities, develop a monthly cash flow report to present to the board.

Also as part of its organizational meeting, the board:

DESIGNATED Jan Leines as board clerk and Fiegel as district treasurer.

Designated the Lawrence Daily Journal-World as the district's official newspaper. KLWN radio and Sunflower Cablevision also were designated as official news media. The Budget, the Lawrence High School newspaper, was designated the official school newspaper.

Designated the firm of Petefish, Curran, Immel and Heeb as legal counsel for the 1991-92 school year. The services of the firm have been used by the district for several years.

Designated the following banks and savings associations as official depositories for the 1991-92 school year: Lawrence National Bank, First National Bank, Douglas County Bank, Firstbank, The Bank of Kansas, Bank IV, Capitol Federal Savings and Loan Assn., Columbia Savings and Pioneer Savings.

MURRAY ABSTAINED from the vote on depositories, citing his membership on the board of directors of First National Bank.

Designated Neuenswander as the authorized representative for federal programs; Wilma Dehart and Bill Wilson as the authorized representatives for KPERS, the Kansas Public Employees Retirement System; and school principals as attendance officers.

In other action, the board approved the purchase of six portable buildings at a cost of $248,280. The new buildings will allow the district to provide three additional classrooms at South Junior High School, one additional classroom at Broken Arrow School, four more classrooms at Wakarusa Valley School and two more classrooms at India School.

THE PURCHASE also will provide a double-wide portable for a clinic, bathroom and teacher work area at India School.

With the board's decision in June to close Kaw Valley School and transfer the school's students to India School, two other portables from Kaw Valley will be added to India School.

Murray voted against the purchase of the six new buildings. He said he would have opposed closing Kaw Valley had he been a board member when the decision was made, so he could not "in good conscience" approve the purchase of portables necessitated by that move.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.