Archive for Friday, July 12, 1991


July 12, 1991


Eighty-seven outstanding Kansas high school graduates have accepted the prestigous Summerfield and Watkins-Berger scholarships offered by Kansas University.

The new scholars begin KU's fall 1991 term Aug. 26, the first day of classes.

Summerfield Scholarships for men and Watkins-Berger Scholarships for women are among the highest honors KU bestows on Kansas high school graduates. Award recipients each receive $1,000 a year for four years provided they maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

To be selected, Kansas high school seniors must be National Merit semifinalists or National Merit commended students or have scored 31 or higher on the American College Test, the ACT.

SUMMERFIELD Scholarships are funded through an endowment established by the late Solon E. Summerfield, a Lawrence native and 1901 KU graduate.

The Watkins-Berger Scholarships are financed by the estate of the late Elizabeth M. Watkins of Lawrence and an endowment in memory of Emily Berger, a 1914 KU graduate who completed her master's thesis in chemistry months before her death in 1920. Her brother, the late Arthur Berger of Dallas, established an endowed scholarship-loan fund in memory of his sister in 1948.

The KU Endowment Association administers both scholarship funds.

Recipients from Lawrence are Teresa K. Carol, Jennifer A. Ford, Melissa J. Goldman, Nathan A. Goodman, Charity A. Hastings, Keith L. Hohn, Ali Nourbakhsh, Cisley C. Owen and Christopher B. Young.

OTHER recipients are:

Hank R. Humphreys, Great Bend; Jennifer J. Prather, El Dorado; Janice A. McClean, Scammon; Jeremy T. Busby, St. Francis; Jacalyn K. Wilder, Clay Center; Jacquelyn A. Hohman, Wakefield; Robert R. Kraft and Jeffrey J. Walker, both of Concordia; Shelena L. Smith, Arkansas City; Wendy D. Fife, Winfield.

David M. Hixson and Megan E. Hope, both of Garden City; Travis D. Archuleta and Seth M. Sullivan, both of Ulysses; Melissa C. Miller, Hoyt; Denoya E. Garman, Mankato; Katherine L. Siegrist and Wilmer B. Ullmann, both of Fairway; Lori A. Davis, Lake Quivira; Catherine E. Baptist, Leawood; Jeffrey D. Eidemiller, Erin C. Madden and Jenny L. McCarthy, all of Lenexa; Brian A. Hardeman, Olathe; Michelle L. Bartholow, Brian M. Moore, Corey J. Taylor, Jeffery S. Turner and Jeanne M. VanCleave, all of Overland Park; Peter M. Saeger and Patricia E. Trausch, both of Prairie Village; Robert J. Runser, Stilwell; Michelle L. Topham, Cunningham.

HUONG M. LAM, Lansing; Jennifer L. Collins, Daniel B. Hawley and Janet M. Matto, all of Leavenworth; Matthew C. Fredrichs, Bremen; Lori J. Purdon, Louisburg; Alicia I. Arbaje, Osawatomie; William J. VanderGiesen, Downs; Brad T. Williams, Coffeyville; Jude H. Kastens, Herndon; Carl J. Gausman, Emily A. Hind and Andrew J. Nolan, all of Hutchinson; Christi L. Malin and Kevin T. Stamper, both of Plainville; Shelly L. Steeples, Stockton; Katherine C. Cook, Todd W. Davidson and Tim A. Neuburger, all of Salina; Jacob S. Arnold, Clearwater; Scott E. Bergene, Derby.

Brett M. Cale, John G. Deke, Patrick S. Eagleman, Debbie J. Faber, Robert W. Hill, Katie Hutchinson, Jason R. Johns, Andrew K. Jong, Paul A. Kletchka, James D. Mardock, Cathy D. Skoch, Aaron C. Sontag, Jared B. Steinshouer, Carrie D. Swartz, Christopher C. Swyers, Jeffrey H. Waller, Kerry A. White and Tony D. Wencl, all of Wichita; Trey T. Meyer, Liberal; Gavin C. Bruce, Arthur Davis, Jeremy D. Desch, and Jennifer J. Hedegaard, all of Topeka; and Gayla E. Guess, Bonner Springs.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.