Archive for Thursday, February 28, 1991


February 28, 1991


— Two Kansas signees Ben Davis and Calvin Rayford have been selected to play in the annual McDonald's All-American high school basketball game.

The 14th annual game will be played April 6 at the Springfield Civic Center.

Davis is a 6-9 forward from Oak Hill Academy in Virginia; Rayford a 5-8 guard from Washington High in Milwaukee, Wis. Davis will play for the East team; Rayford for the West.

Current KU players Mark Randall and Mike Maddox played in McDonald's All-American games as did former Jayhawks Rick Calloway, Greg Dreiling, Tony Guy, Kerry Boagni, Danny Manning and Darnell Valentine.

Here is a list of the players chosen for this year's game with their ollege choice, if applicable, in parentheses:


Travis Best, 5-11, Springfield, Mass. (Georgia Tech); Cory Alexander, 6-1, Oak Hill Academy, Va.; Keith LeGree, 6-1, Statesboro, Ga. (Louisville); Don Williams, 6-3, Garner, N.C. (North Carolina); Eric Brunson, 6-3, Salem, Mass. (Temple); Donyell Marshall, 6-8, Reading, Pa.; James Forrest, 6-8, Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech); Ben Davis, 6-9, Oak Hill Academy, Va., (Kansas); David Vaughan, 6-10, White's Creek, Tenn. (Memphis State); Sharone Wright, 6-10, Macon, Ga. (Clemson). WEST

Calvin Rayford, 5-8, Milwaukee, Wis. (Kansas); Howard Nathan, 5-11, Peoria, Ill. (DePaul); Jimmy King, 6-4, Plano, Tex. (Michigan); Tom Kleinschmidt, 6-5, Chicago, Ill. (DePaul); Jalen Rose, 6-7, Detroit, Mich.; Chris Webber, 6-9, Detroit, Mich.; Glenn Robinson, 6-9, Gary, Ind. (Purdue); Alan Henderson, 6-8, Indianapolis, Ind. (Indiana); Cherokee Parks, 6-11, Huntington Beach, Calif., (Duke); Juwan Howard, 6-10, Chicago, Ill. (Michigan).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.