Archive for Friday, November 16, 1990


November 16, 1990


The Lawrence Chamber of Commerce's board of directors has announced the nomination of eight chamber members to serve three-year terms on the group's board of directors, beginning April 1.

An election will be held Dec. 19. The chamber will accept nominations for more names through Nov. 30.

The chamber's nominees for the board of directors are:

David Ambler, vice chancellor for student affairs at Kansas University; Joe Baker, vice president of Calvin, Eddy & Kappleman Insurance; Jane Bateman, partner in Jane Bateman: The Interiors Store; John Bush, senior vice president at Columbia Savings Assn.;

Bob Martin, president of Haskell Indian Junior College; Dick Orchard, local physician; Andy Ramirez, local attorney; and Dan Watkins, local attorney.

Members of the chamber at large may make more nominations upon the presentation of a petition signed by at least 25 members in good standing representing 25 different chamber membership accounts, according to John Lungstrum, chair of the board of directors.

THOSE PETITIONS for nomination are to be delivered to the chamber on or before Nov. 30.

If no petitions are filed by the deadline, nominations will be closed and the nominated slate of candidates will be elected by the board of directors at its Dec. 19 meeting.

If legal petition candidates are presented, the names of all candidates will be arranged on a ballot in alphabetical order and mailed to all members in good standing on or before Dec. 7.

Chamber board members whose terms will end April 1 are Sam Campbell, David Evans, Stephen Glass, Philip Humphrey, Ted Kuwana, Ken Martinez, Jean Milstead, Myles Schachter and Evelyn Senecal.

Hank Booth, whose term on the board also ends, is now chair-elect and is expected to be elected as chair for the 1991 year.

Chamber board members who will serve the third year of a three-year term, beginning April 1, are Nancy Hiebert, Peggy Johnson, Brian Kubota, Ed Meyen, Dave Nichols, Pat Ross, Gary Sollars and Chet Vanatta. Their terms expire March 30, 1992.

BOARD MEMBERS who will serve the second year of their three-year terms are Arly Allen, Nadine Button, Mack V. Colt, Joe Flannery, Tim Fritzel, John Humphrey, Elaine VanDeventer and Scott Shmalberg. Their terms expire March 30, 1993.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.