Archive for Wednesday, November 14, 1990


November 14, 1990


— Kansas guard Smith Holland is the only member of the All-Big Eight academic football team with a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

Nebraska heads the league brain team, announced Tuesday by the conference office, with seven first-team selections. Iowa State and Kansas had four players apiece.

In addition to Holland, a junior from Shawnee Mission West majoring in business and economics, the Jayhawks landed running back Maurice Douglas, offensive tackle Christopher Perez and linebacker Curtis Moore on the mythical first team.

Douglas, a junior from Columbus, Ohio, has a 3.0 GPA in journalism-broadcast news. Perez, a junior from Palatine, Ill,, earned a 3.36 in communications. Moore, a senior from Wichita, posted a 3.26 in economics.

Other Kansas players chosen for the honor roll were guards Dan Schmidt and Russ Bowen, tackle Lance Snyder, defensive end Marc Ettrick, linebacker Brad Peebler, deep snapper Dave Marcum and defensive back Doug Terry.

A total of 62 players were selected, 12 more than last year. To qualify, athletes had to have a 3.0 grade point average in the previous academic year and be a first- or second-team player.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.