Archive for Friday, May 11, 1990


May 11, 1990


Nine coveted teaching awards will be presented during 1990 commencement activities to Kansas University faculty members who exhibited excellence in their fields.

Winners will receive their awards at the all-university commencement supper at 6:30 p.m. May 19 in the Kansas Union ballroom and will be introduced during commencement ceremonies at 2:30 p.m. May 20 in Memorial Stadium.

The H. Bernerd Fink Award for outstanding classroom teaching will honor Zamir Bavel, computer science professor. The $2,000 award goes to someone who "contributed to the development of students into worthwhile and successful citizens."

STEVEN MCCABE, assistant professor of civil engineering, is winner of the Silver Anniversary Teaching Award, created by the Class of 1960 to honor a faculty member who had taught at KU less than seven years. It includes a $1,000 prize.

Winners of the $2,500 Burlington Northern Foundation Achievement Awards are Allen Ford, professor of business; Dwight Kiel, assistant professor of political science; and Fred Rodriguez, associate professor of curriculum and instruction.

Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Teaching of $1,000 go to Evelyn Swartz, professor of curriculum and instruction; Virginia Cassmeyer, associate professor of nursing; Dr. Norman Martin, professor of radiology; and Dr. George Varghese, assistant professor of rehabilitation medicine.

BAVEL, WHO will receive the prize started in 1961 by Bernerd and Ruth Fink of Topeka, graduated from Southern Illinois University and University of Illinois. He joined the KU faculty in 1968 and is author of four textbooks in math and computer science.

Bavel, who was born in Israel, has taught courses in theory of computation, computer architecture, artificial intelligence, and computers and music. In addition, his compositions of folk and orchestral music are played around the world.

McCabe, the Silver Anniversary Teaching Award recipient, has been on the KU civil engineering faculty since 1985. His teaching and research interest is in the analysis and design of structures for dynamic loads, especially earthquakes.

McCabe has held several positions in industry, including with Black and Veatch in Kansas City, Mo., and as a power-plant engineer in Colorado. He holds degrees from Colorado State University and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

AMONG THE Burlington Northern winners, Ford has been on the business school's accounting faculty since 1976 and has been an Arthur Andersen Faculty Fellow since 1980. The Centenary College and University of Arkansas graduate's interest is in taxation.

Kiel has been on the faculty since 1983 and won the Silver Anniversary Award in 1987. A graduate of Cornell University, University of Texas and University of Massachusetts, his teaching focus is political theory, public administration and U.S. politics.

Rodriguez, who graduated from Chadron State College and University of Nebraska, joined the School of Education faculty in 1978. He specializes in the field of equity in education and has taught courses in multicultural education.

SWARTZ, who heads the list of Chancellor's Award recipients, has been a KU professor since 1967. The four-time finalist for the HOPE award and author of several books has degrees from Park College, Northwest Missouri State University and KU.

Cassmeyer, who has been on the nursing school's faculty since 1980, graduated from the University of Missouri, Case Western Reserve University and KU. She is interested in nursing issues related to endocrinology and the self-management of diabetes.

Martin, who graduated from Wichita State University and KU, has been at KUMC since 1967. He won the Student Voice award from medical students this year. His teaching and research interests include diagnostic radiology and nuclear medicine.

A member of the KUMC faculty since 1977, Varghese received his medical degree from St. John's Medical College in Bangalore, India. His academic focus is the rehabilitation of patients with head and spinal cord and burn injuries.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.