Archive for Friday, January 26, 1990


January 26, 1990


Twenty Kansas University students were nominated for the Fulbright program and other exchange programs, the Office of Study Abroad announced today.

Since the program's creation in 1950, about 180 KU students have received Fulbright and similar grants for study abroad.

Most grants pay for full tuition, room and board, round-trip transportation and a stipend for an academic year of study and research.

The following students were nominated: Bradley Addington, journalism, Shawnee; Frederick Baehner, philosophy, Prairie Village; Amy Beal, piano performance, Petaluma, Calif.; David Beal, education, Lawrence; Brett Berquist, linguistics, music and French, Olathe; Gwyn Blackburn, Russian studies, Lawrence; Mariusz Dobek, political science, Lawrence; Brenda Hotard, dance, College Station, Tex.; Mark Jennison, theater, Brookfield, Ill.; Anne Jones, French and psychology, Shawnee; Jan Kennedy, art history, Shawnee.

Robert Kirch, biochemistry, Kansas City, Kan.; James Mamalis, French and biology, Prairie Village; Molly McKay, French, Clayton, Mo.; Sandra Mesler, architecture, Lawrence; Angela Nonaka, East Asian languages and culture, Buckner, Mo.; Marlon Ohnesorge-Fick, English literature, Lawrence; Andrew Piekalkiewicz, political science, Lawrence; Tami Scheibach, French literature, Lawrence; and James Keith Vincent, East Asian languages and culture, Jenks, Okla.

Final notification for many of the awards will not be made until later this spring.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.