Archive for Wednesday, January 24, 1990


January 24, 1990


Area residents have announced their candidacy for city council seats in three area towns.

Each of the towns Lecompton, McLouth and Oskaloosa has three city council seats that expire this year. The seats will be filled during an April 3 election.

The deadline to file was noon Tuesday.

Six candidates, one an incumbent, are seeking the terms in McLouth, said City Clerk Stella Luse. They are Katherine J. Brown, John Kimberlin, Ralph Petesch, Ronald Forshee, Rhea Connelly and Kenneth Webb, the incumbent, who is seeking his second term.

Catherine Kenworthy, Oskaloosa city clerk, said today that three residents filed to run for the three available seats on Oskaloosa's council. Two incumbents, Gene Gunselman and Don Haynes, are seeking re-election, and David Perry is running for the third spot on the council.

In Lecompton, fewer candidates than vacant council seats filed for the positions. Only two residents, incumbent Dorothy Shaner and Jeff Goodrick, have entered the race, said City Clerk Susie Hackathorn.

Shaner is seeking her third term on the council, she said.

Hackathorn said the third council seat probably would be filled through a write-in election. A third resident expressed his interest in entering the arena, but missed the Tuesday deadline, she said.

Polling booths will be open in the cities from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. April 3.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.