Archive for Wednesday, February 7, 1990


February 7, 1990


A Lawrence attorney was elected Tuesday to chair the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce's board of directors for the coming year.

John Lungstrum, a partner with the law firm of Brand, Lungstrum, Golden & Winter, was among a slate of officers who were elected to serve on the board of directors for the year beginning April 1.

Lungstrum has served on the chamber's board for three years and is currently the chamber's vice chair for economic development.

Other chamber officers for the 1990-91 year include: Hank Booth, president of KLWN/KLZR radio, chair-elect; Dave Evans, vice president of Gould Evans Architects, vice chair of economic development; Ken Martinez, president of A/S/K Associates, vice chair of community affairs; and Gary Sollars, vice president of Charlton Manley Inc., vice chair of operations.

LUNGSTRUM has been active in civic affairs for 18 years. He is a past president of the United Fund of Douglas County, of Independence Inc. and of the Lawrence Rotary Club. He also is a past chairman of the Douglas County Republican Central Committee.

The new chamber officers will be installed at the chamber's annual meeting scheduled for March 30 at the Lawrence Riverfront Plaza factory outlet mall and at Liberty Hall.

Before the officers were elected, a general chamber membership meeting was held and several changes in the chamber's bylaws were approved.

"The principle change was the addition of a chair-elect for the officers for the chamber," said Gary Toebben, chamber president.

The term "chairman" was also changed to "chair" in the bylaws for all of the chamber's committees to eliminate any gender references.

TOEBBEN said the board has a chair and three vice chairs (for economic development, for economic development and for operations).

The chair-elect will be selected a year in advance of the chamber's operating year in which that person would become board chair.

Other changes in the bylaws include:

Increasing the number of people who may serve on the board of directors to not more than 28. The bylaws now authorize 24 directors.

Allowing an individual director whose regular three-year term of membership on the board is expiring to be reappointed by the board to one or two more one-year terms in order to permit that individual to be designated as chair or chair-elect.

Allowing the immediate past board chair to serve as a full voting member of the board. The existing bylaws designate the immediate past chair to be an ex-officio member.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.